rolling reserves all at once or one at a time - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Age
    41
    Posts
    381
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    10 (x1)

    rolling reserves all at once or one at a time

    When rolling for reserves, say for Drop pods, do you roll for all of them to see who showed, pick your drop point and then roll for scatter, or

    Do you roll reserves for troop 1, pick your drop point, roll scatter, deploy, then move on to the next?

    I follow the first, but it was pointed out to me recently that it is far more dangerous to go with the second, i.e. DPing your HQ squad in rapid fire range and then that being the only unit to show.....vice know HQ was the only to show and then dropping in or behind cover....

    Not sure if the bgb specifies.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Fury of the Ages Solo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    AUSTRALIA
    Age
    32
    Posts
    753
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    91 (x2)

    Page 84 of the rule book talks about rolling for reserves. It says that each selection in the force organisation chart must be rolled for separately.

    Therefore, you declare what unit you are rolling for, then roll for it. Then move onto the next unit with another roll.

    For starters, as Drop Pods are a Transport selection for a unit in the Troops section of the SM Codex, you roll for the squad of troops, not the drop pod.

    In closing - don't roll for drop pods all together.
    But I call to God, and the LORD saves me.
    Psalm 55:16

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    183
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    15 (x1)

    I believe he is asking whether you roll for them all at once(with seperate dice for each one of course), or roll and deploy that one, then roll for the next. So:

    Roll, roll, roll, deploy deploy

    Or

    Roll, deploy, Roll, deploy, Roll

    I personally do #1, but I dont think it is specified.

  5. #4
    Senior Member Sinjin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    New York
    Age
    43
    Posts
    823
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    43 (x2)

    This is one of the questions that inevitably sparks a huge debate.

    While it does not really specify one way or the other, there is a passage in the BGB that says "immediatly" which some people take to mean that you deploy as soon as you roll. However, the passage simply means IMO that rolls must be done at the start of the phase, and cannot be "held off" But the meaning could go either way.

    Most people I know make all the rolls, then do all the deployment. However, don't stress too much about doing it "the right way" as there really isn't. If you're concerned about it, talk to your opponent before deployment.

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Age
    41
    Posts
    381
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    10 (x1)

    Yeah, I do the first but a guy watching me play the other day was glad that we did it that way in our store....He said at his usual haunt they did it one unit at a time. it did not make sense to me but like I said way more dangerous.

  7. #6
    PP is my master now... Hasten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles (unfortunately)
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,213
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    135 (x4)

    Actually, there is a correct way to do it! Huzzah, a question we can give a definitive answer to!

    The correct way to do it is the first way you described: roll separately for all reserves, then deploy them all. You can check the rulebook FAQ, 4th page, right-hand column, second question down which begins "Reserves and joining units/transports..." If you read the answer to this question (which isn't the same question you're asking) they discuss the proper way to bring reserves onto the table. You can link to the download page here.

    Cheers!

    -H
    Political language is designed to make lies sound truthful and murder respectable, and to give an appearance of solidity to pure wind.
    -George Orwell

    www.drmcninja.com
    If you're intruiged by doctors who are also ninjas, then this is the webcomic for you!

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Age
    41
    Posts
    381
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    10 (x1)

    You answered it. Very clear to me now. Thanks!

  9. #8
    Senior Member KhlauKolash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    salt lake
    Posts
    324
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    37 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Sinjin View Post
    This is one of the questions that inevitably sparks a huge debate.

    While it does not really specify one way or the other, there is a passage in the BGB that says "immediatly" which some people take to mean that you deploy as soon as you roll. However, the passage simply means IMO that rolls must be done at the start of the phase, and cannot be "held off" But the meaning could go either way.

    Most people I know make all the rolls, then do all the deployment. However, don't stress too much about doing it "the right way" as there really isn't. If you're concerned about it, talk to your opponent before deployment.

    agreed, the term "immediatly" (sp?) should refer to the turn, ie; the unit rolled for cannot "opt to wait for a better turn" to arrive.
    roll for all, then place them.

  10. #9
    for good and for awesome! kore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Riverside, CA
    Age
    39
    Posts
    1,492
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    134 (x4)

    I understand the rolling all the reserves first and then deploying, but I thought the question was asking if you can roll all the dice for each reserve unit all at once. That, you shouldn't be doing. Each roll should be for a specific unit. You shouldn't be able to roll to see what quantity of your units are coming in or not. Now, if you say "the purple die is for DP1 and the pink one is for DP2 and the red one is for my Termies" and roll them all at once, that is fine in my opinion.
    Karmoon: "well.. any kore = good kore" 12:35pm PST 23 May 2007


  11. #10
    PP is my master now... Hasten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles (unfortunately)
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,213
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    135 (x4)

    Quote Originally Posted by kore View Post
    I understand the rolling all the reserves first and then deploying, but I thought the question was asking if you can roll all the dice for each reserve unit all at once. That, you shouldn't be doing. Each roll should be for a specific unit. You shouldn't be able to roll to see what quantity of your units are coming in or not. Now, if you say "the purple die is for DP1 and the pink one is for DP2 and the red one is for my Termies" and roll them all at once, that is fine in my opinion.
    Errr, nah, he was asking whether you roll for each then deploy all, or whether you roll for one, deploy one, roll for the next, deploy the next, etc. The title is a bit misleading, but if you read his post carefully he's actually asking something else.

    -H
    Political language is designed to make lies sound truthful and murder respectable, and to give an appearance of solidity to pure wind.
    -George Orwell

    www.drmcninja.com
    If you're intruiged by doctors who are also ninjas, then this is the webcomic for you!

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts