Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I had an interesting play situation come up with counter attack last night.
Basically, I was charging a unit of space marines with 2 of my squads from opposite sides for the sm unit. I declared both charging and once I moved the first unit he counter attacked it which left my other charging unit out of range for the assault. Also to further the confusion I had a squad that had rapid fired right near it is well. He engaged this unit with the counter attacking unit. The logic was because it is "counted as an attack move" he could engage all of units who charged as well as the other unit as long as he followed the rules for assualting which he did. I am not one to shut down cool uses of the rules so I allowed both things to happen. I still won the combat and the game so it was of little consequence.
My question is the following. When does a unit with counter attack get it's move when being assaulted by multiple units and can the counter attack engage another unit not already engaged in the close combat.
1) Not entirely sure, personally, I think that it moves after all charges are made.
2) Not sure on this one, an instance came up in a game where my opponent locked two of my units with one charge. It sounded okay, but I would also like this to be cleared up as well.
to the first: As your assaults are all done "at the same time", I'm pretty sure that counter attack would technically happen after all your assaults are complete.
If you intended to charge an enemy unit with two units and your opponent went to counter charge after you moved the first one, I would just stop them and say that you have another unit charging them as well and could they please wait til the other one assaults.
number two: I don't think that counter attack would be able to be used to hit unengaged units. I don't have my rules on me, but I'm pretty sure that it talks about moving counter attacking models into contact with the unit that charged it.
And Adrian; yes you can charge as many units as possible with the one if you have the distance. Eg. I could charge my unit of 30 gaunts into 4 tactical marine squads if they were close enough to each other.
hope that helps!
But I call to God, and the LORD saves me.
I'm pretty sure you counter attack the first unit that charges you, that is how I've always used it. in the rules it says if you get charged you counter attack. It never says anything along the lines of 'when all assualt moves have been completed.' So yes, it is possible to move out of range of a unit that intended to charge you. however, i think that if you get charged a second time that assualt phase, all of your models not within base contact of an enemy will move into base contact with the new chargers if possible. it pretty much works like a pile in movement(which by the way uses the same movement rules as an assualt, just 6")
That is not dead which may eternal lie,
for in strange aeons even death may die.
Keep in mind too, that counter-attacking is a two edged sword (maybe even three), because its a compulsory move.
You MUST counterattack the unit that assaults you. On two seperate occasions my opponent has used this to 'pull' my guys forward so other further units could assault, thus producing strange bullseye patterns of combat.