Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
A friend of mine uses these in our friendly games. He says he has the Imperial Armour Update 2006 book, but never brings it. Could someone let me know how exactly these re-take off (if you have the book)? He says they operate like normal drop pods, but can re-take off if the squad embarks, just to deploy like drop pods again. I'm not asking for a break in copywright rules (so no word-for-word please), just asking for a general how-the-hell-these-things-work rundown.
It just seems odd they work so freaking well with like no draw-backs.
He seems to be doing it right, it comes in like a drop pod, but also follows the rules for orbital landers and flyers (see the IA books for details).
The main drawback is that it is more than twice as expensive as a marine drop pod, and you can immobilise it. So there is a good reason to shoot the dreadclaw - you can stop it taking off again .
Badger your opponent to bring the book along. If you bring a unit/army, it's good form to have the books with you.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
So does it really land like a drop pod in the newer version of the rules? As in it deepstrikes, avoiding coming within 1" of an enemy or impassable terrain? Then it can take off again?
Actually in the Forgeworld drop pod rules, they arrive like flyers i.e. you get a chance to shoot at them before they land. I don't know about dreadclaws, but you might wanna check out his rulebook.
Blais's Paint Studio-Getting broken armies good soft scores since 2009
Master Shake is right
Because they arrive like flyers (I.e. in your opponent's turn) They can be shot down just like any other flyer (Though, since it is not a super-heavy, there is a good chance that you will kill the pod and everyone inside it)
But, (IIRC) since they technically land in your turn, by the time the dreadclaw's player gets to go, he will be able to move, shoot, and assault as per normal. (Which, in my opinion, is much more valuable than the ability to take off again.)
* "I'm Significant!" -screamed the dust speck
* "Call me old fashioned, but an evil ascension to power just isn't the same without someone chanting faux Latin in the background."