Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Had a situation where there was 1 chaos biker left in combat against half a dozen marines. The bike was killed.. first question: Does this count as a massacre? (this was a subsiquent round of combat, no charges).
Secondly, Im almost positive my unit could make a 3" (or D6" if it was a massacre) consolidation move. But my opponent interperits the rule as meaning you are only allowed to consolidate IF you need to re-gain unit conherency.
I interpret it as meaning you can move 3" wherever you like, but that a common use it to regain coherency. It gives lots of example about things like the unit 'surging forwards' after the fight etc.. More like the 'overrun' rule in fantasy battle, where if you slaughter the enemy unit you just keep charging ahead.
Also the 'may also be used to contact a new enemy', he sees that as meaning you can only make the move IF you can contact a new enemy. To me, 'May' simply means you CAN, it doesnt mean its the ONLY thing you can use it for .
It was fairly important because it was the last turn, they were a scoring unit slightly more than 6" away from taking a quarter the consolidation wouldve allowed them to secure it.
We ended up rolling to determine if they could consolidate.
Can you please confirm it for us?
Dark Elves - Game #28 vs High Elves: Draw
W L D
21 5 5
I've always played it that one can always consolidate 3'' in any direction, that this can be used to re-enter combat (although you don't count as charging) but in the case of a massacre you move D6'' in any direction, which now that I type it out doesn't make much sense either. And we played the massacre rule whenever you wipe out the squad in one turn.
I'm not sure, I play mostly friendly games and the rules are usually flexible in those.
The above poster = Totally a member of the Fluff Masters Clan. Click here for fluff pwnage.
Come, sons of LO! Kneel before Poodle!
Mr_Wayne: "Some people believe that the World Eaters do not field any ranged weaponry. Those people often die at a distance."
Page 44 of the BGB, first paragraph. Pretty straight forward. You may move in any direction up to 3". I read this as you can go anywhere as long as at the end of the move you are in unit coherency. Even if you start out in unit coherency, you still get the move.
If you win because of a Massacre (and not the opponent falling back) you get D6". Pretty straight forward. It's all spelled out on page 44.
"The internet perceives censorship as damage, and routes around it."
MM has this 100% correct. The second round of combat convention was part of TAR, and was not adopted, so anytime you kill a unit to the man, be it sweeping advance, no retreat, or just mangled, you get your d6 move instead of the 3". So in all actualty, there is only one time that you will get a 3" consolidation and that's if the unit falls back (or withdraws), and you didn't catch it.
16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
1,500+ of Legion (just started)