Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I'm pretty overly cautious on rules and if somethings debated I like to get some back up answers, just in case.
Okay so, when removing casualties in combat must you remove models in base to base first or can it be any engaged model i.e. any model within 2" of a friendly base in CC.
The rulebook says the latter is correct but I've had a few people argue in games that it has to be base to base first, so I just wanted some clarification to make sure I'm not reading wrong or just stupid or something, which I sometimes am. :] Thanks homies.
Like you've pointed out, any engaged models can be taken out (as per the BG. Be careful with IC's though, as they only get to attack models close to them, instead of all over the place like the regular unit.
There is, however, no rule stopping them from removing their front line models instead of the ones further back. Normally this doesn't make much difference, but a clever opponent can plan ahead and (given enough casualties) remove all the models close to, say, a Powerfist Sergeant in order to keep him from attacking (since when his Initiative comes around, he would no longer have any engaged models nearby to go after).
There are two correct answers here, so I'll do them one at a time.
1. IF the model in base to base is NOT and Independent character (IC), but a "squad upgrade" like a veteran Sargent, exarch, etc. Then any model within 2" of those in base to base may be removed.
2. IF the model IS an IC, like a SM commander, chaplain, farseer, etc. Then if the enemy's hits are directed to the IC then only the IC takes wounds and only the IC can be removed as a casualty.
Summary, a squad WITHOUT and IC attached counts as one big bunch o' wounds for CC and may take models from any where within 2". A squad WITH an IC attached counts as two separate squads in CC - One big bunch o' wounds (the Squad) and the IC (a single model) which counts as a separate squad.
That's what I thought. People who play at the GW store just do not know what they're doing.......at least here. Thanks guys.
It was a 3rd ed rule where you needed to pull base to base models first, if I remember correctaly. No such thing exists in 4th ed.
And to be more precise, only models in the SAME UNIT may be removed as casualties from a model in btb (so long as they are engaged). Not a biggy, just can get confusing with multiple combats.
16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
1,500+ of Legion (just started)