Assaulting while Falling back (before regrouping) - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    51
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Assaulting while Falling back (before regrouping)

    Hi,

    I've searched the forums and read pg 48 and 49 of the BGB quite a few times today, and couldn't find the definite answer to this question. I've been playing for 2-3 years and never questioned it until today, and when I went to search for the clear rule, I actually couldn't find it. If anyone can point it out to me, that would be greatly appreciated!

    The question is: "If a unit is currently falling back (failed leadership for regrouping), can it assault a nearby unit if it can reach the unit?"

    I know the following facts:

    - A unit falling back can still shoot.
    - A unit who successfully regroups during its movement phase can shoot (counts as moved) and assault.
    - A unit who is falling back that gets assaulted makes a regrouping test immediately. It has to succeed or be destroyed.

    There isn't any specific wording for if a unit is falling back, it CANNOT assault. I know a lot of the replies in other threads have been a definite "You CANNOT assault if you're falling back", but I would like to find exactly where this rule is so I can show it to someone in the future.

    Any help?
    Thank you!


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Son of LO psichotykwyrm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Panama City Beach, Florida
    Age
    33
    Posts
    2,638
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    443 (x8)

    Don't know if you've heard these already, but how about this:

    1a. If a falling back unit that is assaulted must pass a regroup test, then a regroup must be passed to enter assault. If they did not pass regroup on their move, then no assault.

    1b. Following the above, if you failed regroup then tried to regroup again to charge, you would be giving yourself 2 regroup attempts on your turn. I'm pretty sure it states that you get one per turn. (with the exception of any special ability, I guess)

    2. (not sure what page) A falling back unit must move within a "corridor" the size of the unit(?) in the straightest line to their deployment zone. It seems assaulting would possibly mess with this.
    "It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
    ---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes

  4. #3
    The ORIGINAL Sniper Puss eiglepulper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Age
    57
    Posts
    2,841
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    596 (x8)

    To answer your question "If a unit is currently falling back (failed leadership for regrouping), can it assault a nearby unit if it can reach the unit?"

    1/ P.49 BGB last paragraph of left column, first sentence: The important words here are "successfully passes". If the unit does NOT pass its test to regroup, then it cannot do any of the permitted actions in this paragraph. The paragraph states clearly what you *can* do if you pass your Test, and at the same time is thereby stating by implication what you *cannot* do if you fail it. You must pass your test in order to be allowed to do what is included in this paragraph.

    2/ If you are falling back and try to regroup, you have to fulfil all three conditions in order to be able to do so. One of these is that you must not be within 6" of any enemy unit. Most (though obviously not all) units have an assault range of 6", so if you are in range to assault 6" it follows then that you fail to fulfil one of the requirements to allow the regroup test, which then precludes you from assaulting that unit since you must pass a regroup test in order to be permitted to assault anything.

    It is only once a unit has regrouped that it is permitted to act as normal (bar movement).

    Hope this helped a little.

    E.

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    51
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Thanks E and Psi for your explanations!

    I think I have a good case against anyone who may argue about the assaulting while falling back part. Didn't think of using the "here's what you CAN do if you regroup, thus you CANNOT do it if you don't regroup" method.

    But yeah, I "escorted" a unit of incubi and dracon off the board with my tank (that lost its weapons).

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts