Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
if my assault squad w/ 2 plasma pistols penetrate a chimera, forcing its occupants out, can i assault the occupants?
No - you have to assault the chimera, because that is what you fired at
Once the first model hits the chimera, the rest have to move in to base contact as best as possible, this can result in some of your unit charging the (presumably entangled) squad
Everything you have been told is a lie!
Cheredanine is spot on here. One thing you might like to bear in mind when doing that 'double assault' though is that you would automatically cancel the effect of the entanglement of the disembarked squad. See P.68 BGB Entangled and P.32 BGB Pinning Weapons.
It might be better to leave the unit alone since they are totally ineffectual for the next turn anyway, unless you could be sure either of a complete wipe-out or, failing this, that they would not just pull the models in base contact, probably fail their Morale check and fall back, leaving your squad exposed to in-coming fire in your opponent's next turn.
This is a case of where it might be better to assault the chimea from behind, as if you assault and block its one acess point, and the troops have to get out, and they can't deploy because of your models, then they just die.
Fun to do too! but seeing as most transports have 2-3 acess points its harder to do.
The OP's shooting had forced the disembarking though, so unless he was <2" away from the vehicle's access point when he was shooting the disembarked troops would not have been able to be destroyed in that way.
But yes, it is good fun to hit with meltabombs or whatever and know that you've all the exits covered! Or an Ordnance weapon hits a Land Raider Crusader with a Black Templars High Marshal plus Command Squad riding inside, and you roll an Annihilated! result. Now *that* hurts. The guy in our gaming club still hasn't got over the shock!
You don't necessarily need to get into the best base-to-base (or base-to-tank, in this case) with the target unit in a multiple assault situation. For the example given, the assault squad must declare the primary assault target as the Chimera as that is what they shot at... it can then declare a secondary assault against the squad that disembarked.
The model closest to the Chimera must be moved first, into contact with the Chimera using the shortest possible route. Every other model in the assault squad can charge the disembarked unit now, as long as they maintain unit coherency and follow all other normal rules for moving chargers.
This is assuming, of course, that the Chimera was not destroyed by the penetrating hit, in which case no assault would be possible at all.
i think everyone may have missed the part of not being able to assault if rapid fire weapons are shot with (ie Plasma). unless they are using Jet Packs (not Jump Packs )
whoops my bad- pistols :blush:
Last edited by Cadian_Munkey; April 3rd, 2007 at 07:44.