Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I've run into this a few times with my tyranids.
Enemy force of guard ( charges my Carnifex (A). Falls in, encircles him. Next round, gaunts (C) charge in and surround the Guard. The next turn, more guard (D) pile in and surround the gaunts.
How precisely should the assault be adjudicated?
I assume A can attack only B, and B can attack A or C, and C can attack B or D, but D can only attack C, and C only 'assaulted' C.
Are the various forces involved in seperate assaults? A single assault. Would the Guard in this hypothetical all roll for morale at once if they lost the assault?
How would this situation deal with fall back movements?
You can only fight against units you have at least one model in contact with. So the last unit of guard can't fight the carnifex.
It's one big assault, but IIRC you can only pursue units you are in contact with. I.e. once again the carnifex can only pursue the first unit of guard, but the hormagaunts can run down both.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
I believe... its like this.
Units have to choose which Unit they attack... if models from that unit are not able to attack the target unit then they can choose to attack another unit. There is a picture of this in the rule book I am pretty sure showing marines attacking two enemy units. Some marines are not in base to base with the unit they charged and are not within the 2 inch rule for assisting their mates that are in base to base with another unit or are within 2 inches of helping those mates that are, so can attack that unit instead.
And as far as falling back and rolling morale. I am pretty sure its on a per unit basis. If you have 2 units in combat against 3 enemy units and one of your units loses its combat while your other one wins then I think you still roll for just the loser. I recall it stating that if you fail the CC and fall back the enemy can not sweeping advance if they are still locked in combat. Course... in your description if the guard that surrounded the Carnie had to fall back but where in turn surrounded by the guants... they are dead anyway.
I ran into multiple combats alot this weekend because I played alot of tau that grouped up... my scarabs would swarm in and come base to base with multiple units.
Edit: hrmm I am gonna drag out my rule book and reread this part. I could have swore you could but then I could be mixing this up.
Last edited by Vlorlich; April 18th, 2007 at 17:56.
As long as a single model from a unit is in contact with an enemy model that unit is in combat with them, as well as any other unit which is in contact
So if you have (assume X and Y are different players and adjacent to = base to base)
X X X X X X X X X
X X X X X X X X X (3)
EVERYONE is involved in this massively improbable and absurd combat because 1 is touching 2 who is touching 3 who is touching 4!
Granted, 1 cannot hit 4 but the ENTIRE combat result is what is used by everyone involved.. Not just the results of 1+3vs2 or 2+4vs3, etc
Think of it like an electrical current.. If there are no breaks in the current then its still one circuit
In the case of sweeping advance.. You can only do it if ALL the units engaged enemies are fleeing and still have a model in base to base.. In my sweet X/Y example 1 could sweeping advance 2 *if* 2 fell back and had a model in base to base
3 could ONLY sweeping advance 2 *if* 2 and 4 fell back and had a model still in base to base
If 2 falls back, and 1 fails to catch then 1 is NO LONGER locked in combat because all of their opponents are out of base to base contact. 1 was only in combat with 2 but they still shared a combined combat result due to 2 being in combat with 3 and 3 being in combat with 4
Last edited by Kirasu; April 18th, 2007 at 18:08.
That makes a lot of sense Kirasu. Also it sounds bad bad bad for the guard.
Turtles For the Turtle God!
Shells For the Shell Throne!
Remember, models that are in btb with a unit most direct attacks vs that unit.
So A can attack B.
B can attack A or C.
C can attack B or D.
And D can attack only C.
And yes, multiple assaults say you count up ALL wounds from one side to compare to see who wins.
16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
1,500+ of Legion (just started)