Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
My friends and i disagree on whether or not you can start a unit outside of a transport that was bought for it. For example buying a Razorback for a squad of marines, but starting the marines deployed within 2" of the hatches and being able to shoot with them on the first turn. Haven't found anything in the rulebook so far saying that you can't but we are currently divided. Any help or page reference is greatly appreciated.
Et imperator Invocato Diabolus Daemonica Exorcist!
yes, you can start a unit outside of its transport.
They have to be deployed at the same time. But you can chose to keep the unit inside their transport or outside at the begining of the game.
You should be able to find that in the vehicle section of the BGB, right were the embarkation and disembarkation rules are, if I rememberr correctly. Don't have my book with me at the moment, though.
If you are playing DA and you use the combat squads rule you can actually half of the squad inside and the other half outside.
Shut up and play.
Also... keep in mind that while the squad is not inside the transport, the transport can be as far away as you want it to. You can drive it off to the other side of the table, if that's what you want.
Just remember that it can't transport any other unit than the unit it was bought for, if it's a dedicated transport. But it is not part of the squad so therefore does not count for unit coherency.