Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Can a model with Daemonic Flight make use of the Sewer Rats Stratagem?
The reason this comes up is an upcoming Cities of Death league I have a friend who is thinking about taking the Disc of Tzeentch. Everything I have found seems to imply that a model on the disc only "moves as..." something else, but does not change it's classification. So in other words, a Lord will still be infantry and thus be able to use the Sewer Rats markers.
"The internet perceives censorship as damage, and routes around it."
Chaos codex says very specifically that they move *as jump infantry*.. as does Steed as does Speed. The rules for jump infantry and cavalry say they can move as infantry but that doesnt change their classification. They still are unable to deploy during escalation regardless of what other modes of movement they can do
You could make the argument for Marines with jump packs .. as they're just marines with an item that lets them jump.. they're still just infantry. No.
In short, the answer is no because he is no longer Infantry. As the previous example demonstrates Marines with jump packs MAY move as infantry that doesn't mean they're classifed as such
That would mean that ANYTHING in the chaos codex with demonic flight could use sewer rats, which doesnt make any sense from either a rules or common sense standpoint. Demonic flight == 'chaosy" name for a jump pack, nothing more nothing less
Edit - In addition, the Space marine codex uses the same wording as Chaos for jump packs vs demonic flight. "Move as jump infantry". Therefore if your friend insists, then every single model in the game pretty much could use sewer rats
Last edited by Kirasu; April 20th, 2007 at 04:25.
Models with daemonic flight are jump infantry in all respects. A character with daemonic speed could use sewer rats, since he only moves as cavalry rather than becoming cavalry.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
Second....only troops are allowed to use the sewer rat stratagem I believe. Lord are HQ units... and they cannot be attached together beforehand either.
Raven Claws Space Marine Chapter........2500 points
Waagh Rotskrag (in building process)
Member of the Fluffmaster Clan
Silly MM. BGB p 264- demonic flight = jump infantry
demonic flight and MC = jump infantry MC
kinda surprised no page ref before mine considering the two great rules gurus...
16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
1,500+ of Legion (just started)