rapid fire plasma's - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    286
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    23 (x1)

    rapid fire plasma's

    If i were to give my company master who has BS5 a plasma pistol or a combi-plasma and use it to rapid fire it will overheat on a roll of 1 or 2. But if i roll a 4 and a 2 i know the 4 will hit, but because the 2 counts as overheating dose it still hit or dose the fact that its overheating mean it misses?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Son of LO darkreever's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    NJ, U.S.
    Age
    28
    Posts
    5,129
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    186 (x8)

    Regardless of ballistic skill, if the shot is supposed to overheat on a 2 then it will still overheat and hurt him. The more the plasma weapon is fired in one go, the more likely something will go wrong for it. This does not change no matter how good the firer's BS may be.

    Take my love, take my land, take me to where I cannot stand; I don't care I'm still free, you can't take the sky from me.

    "The difference between gods and daemons largely depends upon where one is standing at the time."- Lorgar
    Member of the Fluff Masters Clan

  4. #3
    Ender of Threads Wraith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Winnipeg, Canada
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,306
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    256 (x5)

    ...And to carry on from darkreever's explanation, even though the gun may overheat on you, so long as you managed to roll a hit, the shot is still good. It's just that the gun overheated immediately after firing the shot, that's all.

    So yes, you still score a hit, but you suffer the wound from the overheat as well.

    EDIT: I guess I really ought to point out that the "Gets hot" rule is on page 30 of the BGB. It explains it all quite nicely.
    We've got plenty of youth... How about a fountain of smart?


  5. #4
    Son of LO darkreever's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    NJ, U.S.
    Age
    28
    Posts
    5,129
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    186 (x8)

    Oh...I had always thought overheats counted as a miss; learn a little something new or relearn something every day I guess...

    Take my love, take my land, take me to where I cannot stand; I don't care I'm still free, you can't take the sky from me.

    "The difference between gods and daemons largely depends upon where one is standing at the time."- Lorgar
    Member of the Fluff Masters Clan

  6. #5
    Son of LO tarzen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,023
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    121 (x8)

    Yeah, Wraith has it right. And remember that rerolls count as if you had never rolled the first roll. And a hit is a hit, a miss is a miss, and an auto miss because of range or LOS is not rolled at all. Cheers.
    My armies:
    16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
    7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
    6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
    4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
    1,500+ of Legion (just started)

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts