Regarding Tyranids and the Culexus Assassin - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Illustrator Extraordinair Adrian MalSeraph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    New York State
    Age
    28
    Posts
    2,579
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    192 (x7)

    Regarding Tyranids and the Culexus Assassin

    1. Are Tyranid Warriors considered psykers?

    2. Are Tyranids affected by the Souless rule?

    3. Can psyk out grenades hurt the Hive Tyrant? I'm leaning towards no, due to synapse.

    4. Does Life Drain affect the Hive Tyrant?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    0!=1jumpin'punch'swing jONESIE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Northern Rivers, Oz
    Age
    30
    Posts
    787
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    103 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by Adrian MalSeraph View Post
    1. Are Tyranid Warriors considered psykers?

    2. Are Tyranids affected by the Souless rule?

    3. Can psyk out grenades hurt the Hive Tyrant? I'm leaning towards no, due to synapse.

    4. Does Life Drain affect the Hive Tyrant?
    Hey Champ!

    Firstly, Synapse counts as psychic, so any Synapse nodes or psychic models (Tyrant, Broodlord, Warriors and Zoan) will count as psykers for Culexus.

    This means the Culexus can use all rules and weapons against these models, as they all count as psykers...up to and including the extra shots for his ranged Animus, and the BTB charge targetting of these models.

    On the Souless issue, I would have to go with Yes. Synapse would auto pass, no worries. But if outside Synapse (no auto pass, using their own Ld) then things with a higher than Souless Ld will be affected by Souless (Carni, Raveners etc)

    *dons monocle, gets devoured by Hive Fleet*
    Last edited by jONESIE; April 30th, 2007 at 15:19. Reason: Typos :D
    Quote Originally Posted by Jaffar_Hasad
    You need more Mordians?
    They still exist?
    LO RULES

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Age
    36
    Posts
    555
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    76 (x2)

    This really belongs in the rules forum.

    Its important to note that the Synaptic 'powers' are hive mind powers, not strictly speaking psychic abilities.

  5. #4
    Sadomachiatto Karmoon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Frankfurt, Germany
    Posts
    7,076
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputation
    790 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Spook2k5 View Post
    This really belongs in the rules forum.

    Its important to note that the Synaptic 'powers' are hive mind powers, not strictly speaking psychic abilities.
    Kind of,

    the codex is pretty clear when it states that synapse creatures are psyckers.

    Additionally, there are a couple of power which are definitely cancellable by the hood - Focused Warp Blast and Catalyst.
    LO Rules

    Quote Originally Posted by Anonymous
    Anyone who's as loyal and motivated to doing what they love as you are is respectable in my book
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyric
    I'm taking leave of my senses and shall be out of my mind until further notice.

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Age
    36
    Posts
    555
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    76 (x2)

    I just want to make sure that point of question is on the table. I've heard the assassin argument from both sides before, and like I said this is really better off in rules forum where the rules folks can dig their long lawyerly pens into it.

    I personally have no problem with someone slagging down on someone with a purchased hive mind ability like warp blast, or catalyst, or perhaps even warpfield, but I'm far from the best 40k legal expert.

    I don't think just being synaptic should be justifiable for reaping the pain associated with the culexus though. Down that slippery path are the folks who say such things as 'All the eldar are psykers in the fluff, so I should be able to get +11 attacks when I attack an 11 man guardian squad.'

  7. #6
    Son of LO
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Age
    28
    Posts
    2,425
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    252 (x0)

    When the new Tyranid Codex was released an article was written in a later White Dwarf issue called, "How to Kill a Tyranid". In it, Pete Haines (I think) suggested a Culexus Assassin.

    *shrugs*

    Either way, I'll move this over to the Rules section.

    Thread moved.

  8. #7
    0!=1jumpin'punch'swing jONESIE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Northern Rivers, Oz
    Age
    30
    Posts
    787
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    103 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by Firedrake28 View Post
    When the new Tyranid Codex was released an article was written in a later White Dwarf issue called, "How to Kill a Tyranid". In it, Pete Haines (I think) suggested a Culexus Assassin.

    *shrugs*

    Either way, I'll move this over to the Rules section.

    Thread moved.
    You're right too I remember it hehe... "Don't be a Rabbit in the Headlights"

    Whilst i'm here, I'd like to add that all Inquisitors, Grey Knight Justicars/Brother Captains/HQ's, and Daemonhosts are psykers too, and add to your Animus shots.... even if allied, let alone fighting against them (or Nids, for that matter)
    Quote Originally Posted by Jaffar_Hasad
    You need more Mordians?
    They still exist?
    LO RULES

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts