Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
The main issues that I want clarified is how a troop carrier's movement effects a disembarking group in terms of movement, firing, and assaulting. So essentially everything.
So question one.
Say a Chimera moves 12" and then unloads its cargo. p62 simply says "...the passengers move only far enough to deploy." Does that mean they count as having moved already and are not allowed any further movement in that turn as well as loosing their rapid fire ability?
Secondly, do they retain the ability to assault?
"If compelled to disembark (eg, because of the vehicle being destroyed), any models that cannot disembark... ... and removed from play as casualties. After Disembarking, models may shoot (Counting as moving) but may not assault..."pg62
So in a situation where the units are forced to disembark but are not entangled, loose their privileges to move, rapid fire, and assault. But in the context ("If compelled to disembark...") is it indicating that assaulting is still available when one disembarks normally?
Lastly, Say i have a transport facing the enemy with its front armor. The transport did not move during the current turn, but I did turn it around in order to unload a squad. When disembarking does the transport count as have moved and the squad suffers from the restrictions there of?
Last edited by Sentinel; May 25th, 2007 at 20:51.
any models that deployed from a vehicle may not Assault, unless the Vehicle is Open Topped, or has some special rule (like a Rhino). they are also able to Rapid Fire there weapons.
I'd suggest you read the last paragraph of pg 62 properly. The answers really are all there (like on assaulting).
Turning only doesn't count as movement if you do it in the shooting phase.
And Bigs180, you mean Land Raider.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
If a unit is forced to disembark, it's usually due to your opponent's shooting... therefore, of course you cannot shoot/assault during your opponent's shooting phase, can you? If for some odd reason, that you are forced to disembark during your own turn due to some unlucky ordnance scattering or some special frenzy rules, then simply revert back to p.62 ... again, those bullet-points will be very sufficient to answer your question.
Anima Tactics - try it out!
Quote by Nekochen:
I believe it does not count as moving.. but that's how I always play it, and that's how my local GW store treated it. Not sure how other people would have a say on this
To me a vehicle turning does so in the movement phase and so counts as moving (page 61 BG, this is not to be confused with turning to face in the shooting phase as this would not allow disembarking (page 64).
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.
A pivot is movement. If it weren't, consider the tactic:
Turn my chimera with rear armor to face you, unload my squad where I want them, they can now make a normal move, assault, whatever. Shooting phase rolls around, turn my chimera back around so front armor faces you and blast away.
Oh if only! I'd eBay all my Rhinos tomorrow.