Combat confusion - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Age
    26
    Posts
    63
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x1)

    Combat confusion

    My question is can the owner of a model choose who his attacks hit, i know the owner of the models generally chooses the casualties provided they are engaged in combat. But are you allowed to choose which model your model is attacking provided they are engaged in base to base.

    E.g say 5 kroot and a shaper are charged by a chaplain, if the chaplain is in base to base with both a kroot and the shaper, and is engaged with all the kroot. can he choose to direct all his attacks at the shaper, or the rest of the unit. Or does the combat get resolved then the owner of the models chooses who takes the hits.

    I had trouble wording the question but any help will be greatly appreciated, as combat is definitely one of the more confusing aspects of 40K.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Advocatus Diaboli Rork's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Prowling LO, looking for fresh meat.
    Posts
    4,571
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    476 (x8)

    Squad leaders (like the shaper) can never be picked out as a general rule. Independent Characters in units (like the chaplain) can be picked out, however.


    Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.

    Quote Originally Posted by amishcellphone
    <3 rork. He does all the arguing so I don't have to.

  4. #3
    LO Zealot magnet_man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Age
    37
    Posts
    1,330
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    126 (x4)

    Quote Originally Posted by leebrown19 View Post
    My question is can the owner of a model choose who his attacks hit, i know the owner of the models generally chooses the casualties provided they are engaged in combat. But are you allowed to choose which model your model is attacking provided they are engaged in base to base.

    E.g say 5 kroot and a shaper are charged by a chaplain, if the chaplain is in base to base with both a kroot and the shaper, and is engaged with all the kroot. can he choose to direct all his attacks at the shaper, or the rest of the unit. Or does the combat get resolved then the owner of the models chooses who takes the hits.

    I had trouble wording the question but any help will be greatly appreciated, as combat is definitely one of the more confusing aspects of 40K.
    Rork's right. But to add a little bit more. If the kroot suffer 3 wounds, then the kroot player gets to choose which 3 models are removed.

    Now if the chaplain where in B2B with two different kroot units, then the SM player says (before any rolling for attacks) where ALL his attacks are going. They go at one or the other kroot units and any wounds that go over the squad size (or kill zone) do not carry over to the other unit.

    Hope that helps.
    Tim Wright

    "The internet perceives censorship as damage, and routes around it."
    -John Gilmore

  5. #4
    LO's Shadow Captain Lost Nemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Age
    27
    Posts
    12,783
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    830 (x8)

    Just to reiterate...

    Unless via a special rule, non-IC models in units can never be singled out in close combat, including squad sergeants, special weapons troopers, etc.

    Independent Characters are always separate from units in close combat, so therefore can always be singled out.

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Age
    26
    Posts
    63
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x1)

    cool so if a model was in base to base with and IC and a member of the squad he is accompanying he can choose to direct his attacks at one or the other, and the excess wounds wont carry over.

  7. #6
    LO's Shadow Captain Lost Nemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Age
    27
    Posts
    12,783
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    830 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by leebrown19 View Post
    cool so if a model was in base to base with and IC and a member of the squad he is accompanying he can choose to direct his attacks at one or the other, and the excess wounds wont carry over.
    Right. According to the rules as stated in the BGB, the IC counts as a separate unit, so unless you can split your attacks amongst two different units (didn't think you could...) then you have to pick him or his unit.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts