Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I played my first real IG opponent yesterday and this came up quite a bit.
In the IG FAQ is says to treat heavy weapons teams as two individual bases and that the large base is just for convenience. So does this mean that other models can stand on the open areas of the large base, specifically in CC? Where do you measure gun ranges from? The base edge or the small base edge where the gunner would stand?
It was just strange to me that when my opponent piled in he placed two standard IG on the large base blank areas.
"The internet perceives censorship as damage, and routes around it."
Both Models and their weapons take up the whole base. They're just put on that larger base for convienience. So you measure range and LOS to and from the base.
If any part of the base is in range and LOS, then both of the models count as being in range and LOS. So don't really pay attention to exactly where the models are on the base, they just take up the whole base.
That means they can both shoot if just the tip of their base is in LOS and range, but that also means both models can get it if the tip of the base is in range and LOS. Also for templates, if the base is partially hit, you count it as 2 partial hits, when the template is comepletely covering the large base, then it's 2 complete hits.
Some people like to put the smaller infantry bases on top of the large bases, where they put their guys, which would be fine. In that case, then you'd ignore the large base and just go by the infantry bases.
In most cases, you'll just see the 2 guys on the large bases, so that's why you should go by the large bases. Talk to your opponent before you start to work out exactly how you're going to measure to and from those bases.
I should also add, the Guardsman using the heavy weapon and 1 other guardsman are the only ones allowed to use large bases, all the other infantry use smaller bases. Other Guardsmen are not allowed to crowd onto the large base.
Last edited by Skrivus; June 5th, 2007 at 17:01.
MacGyver = Crushing Victory
you can also just model the loader on 1 base and the shooter on another. This is how they used to do it... but seeing as though the weapons team comes with a base i can't really give a conclusive answer
Got a "good" rumour from a GW staffer? Forget about it, LO'ers know more than any random GW shop staffer.
Voor alle nederlanders:
The Dutch Legion