Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I'm a little confused about my charcter deep striking with units. Now my understanding is that charcters that can deep strike with terminator armour/jump pack are not allowed to deep strike with a unit of assualt marines or terminators. Im just not sure why. To me it seems no different than when you start your charcter out in a unit during the set up phase. You just tell your oponent that your charcter is starting in reserves attached to the unit. Im sure this has come up befor but could someone tell me the page numbers or give some explanation as to why my charcters is getting kicked out of the units by marines of lesser rank than he is.
You can only join characters to units in the deployment phase when you physically deploy them on the table before the game starts (Pg 84, roughly under deploy forces).
Otherwise, they're two separate units that require two different reserve rolls and move on to the table independently. Some people will allow you to join characters to other units if they come on at the same time, others won't.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
The only way that a character can deep strike with a unit at the same time is if the characters has a retinue that can also deepstrike.
A space marine chaplain in terminator armor has a command squad purchased for him in terminator armor- they may deep strike together, and require 1 roll for reserves.
A chaos lord in terminator armor has an allotment of chosen in terminator armor that form a retinue for him-they can deep strike together, and require 1 roll for reserves.
A space marine chaplain in terminator armor has an ELITE terminator unit on the same force organizations. They require 2 seperate rolls for reserves AND may not deepstrike together.
40K-Beakies(9-14-4),Guard(4-7-2),Orks(34-12-11). FANTASY-Dwarves(15-6-7),Beasts (14-14-1), Skaven (17-17-10) DoC (6-1-2). CYGNAR (28-15-1)
Darn! Xrix1 beat me to it! You can link to the FAQ here. The pertinent passage is on the last page, second column, beginning "Q. Reserves and joinging units/transports. When deploying an Independent Character..."
Political language is designed to make lies sound truthful and murder respectable, and to give an appearance of solidity to pure wind.
If you're intruiged by doctors who are also ninjas, then this is the webcomic for you!
This is from the 40k_rulebook_faq 2007 under mission special rules and it basically says that when rolling for reserves if you happen to roll successfully for the character and the unit at the same time you can choose to attach them before deploying and bring them on to the table as one.
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.
makes it hard to deep strike a IC that isnt with a retinue (which automatically encludes the said IC). did this help?
Armies thus far....