do skimmers provide cover? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Age
    38
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x0)

    do skimmers provide cover?

    I regularly play a tau player...he states that his devilfish will give a cover save to his firewarriors...ive looked and as far as I can tell skimmers do not block line of sight....he states its a regularly known rule used at tournaments...its why "fish of fury" works he says...can anyone point to a place where it states this is true?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,568
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    280 (x6)

    Sure, it's true....... if the devilfish is destroyed and the firewarriors are standing in the wreckage.

  4. #3
    Member stjohn70's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SLC, UT
    Posts
    116
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    53 (x1)

    If the Devilfish is alive and still mobile, then it provides no cover whatsoever.

  5. #4
    Senior Member ZenGamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Eastern PA, USA
    Age
    38
    Posts
    744
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    137 (x3)

    It only blocks line of sight (as any normal vehicle) if it lands, in which case it did not move and does not downgrade penetrating hits to glancing hits (pretty dumb thing, generatlly, for a Tau player to do).

    Fish of Fury works because the skimmer will block movement and assaults through it - enemy troops have to go around, but it provides no protection from shooting.
    -Thread Killer Bryan
    Tyranid Hive Fleet Typhoeus
    T'au Empire, Bork'an Sept

  6. #5
    Son of LO MouseC112's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    2,059
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    106 (x6)

    Sorry wrong

    Quote Originally Posted by ZenGamer View Post
    It only blocks line of sight (as any normal vehicle) if it lands, in which case it did not move and does not downgrade penetrating hits to glancing hits (pretty dumb thing, generatlly, for a Tau player to do).

    Fish of Fury works because the skimmer will block movement and assaults through it - enemy troops have to go around, but it provides no protection from shooting.
    Not correct, skimmers do not block of sight at all, they are not classified as a normal vehicle. read the rules for the devilfish upgrade carefully, it does not say it will block line of sight. So the vehicle moves and the squad disembarks, you can shoot the squad.
    40K-Beakies(9-14-4),Guard(4-7-2),Orks(34-12-11). FANTASY-Dwarves(15-6-7),Beasts (14-14-1), Skaven (17-17-10) DoC (6-1-2). CYGNAR (28-15-1)

  7. #6
    Senior Member ZenGamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Eastern PA, USA
    Age
    38
    Posts
    744
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    137 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by MouseC112 View Post
    Not correct, skimmers do not block of sight at all, they are not classified as a normal vehicle. read the rules for the devilfish upgrade carefully, it does not say it will block line of sight. So the vehicle moves and the squad disembarks, you can shoot the squad.
    When landed (using landing gear which they have automatically), Devilfish and Hammerheads are no longer skimmers until they move again as per page 30 of the Tau codex under the section tltled "Landing Gear".

    Therefore, if landed, they are not skimmers (until they move again) and block line of sight just as any other non-skimmer vehicle.
    -Thread Killer Bryan
    Tyranid Hive Fleet Typhoeus
    T'au Empire, Bork'an Sept

  8. #7
    Dark Eldar Zealot Wicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Menai Sydney Australia
    Age
    56
    Posts
    3,699
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    434 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by ZenGamer View Post
    When landed (using landing gear which they have automatically), Devilfish and Hammerheads are no longer skimmers until they move again as per page 30 of the Tau codex under the section tltled "Landing Gear".

    Therefore, if landed, they are not skimmers (until they move again) and block line of sight just as any other non-skimmer vehicle.
    Hi,
    just like to add if they are immobilised they no longer count as skimmers and also block LOS.
    Cheers
    In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.

  9. #8
    Gone LittleBlueMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Across the street.
    Posts
    1,286
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x3)

    No cover save from a skimmer either. No blocked LOS and no Cover.

    Fish of Fury works becuase enemy infantry can't assault the weak as hell in CC firewarriors. That's all. No cover save. Nada. Your friend has been cheating you.
    Turtles For the Turtle God!
    Shells For the Shell Throne!

  10. #9
    Son of LO tarzen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,023
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    121 (x8)

    zengamer has it right on the landing gear MC. They become vehicles. vehicles block LOS unless they are skimmers (which when landed lose the skimmer bit=).

    I'd be more than happy to allow his devilfish to give cover so long as he knows about my armies generally well known 2+ invulnerable save. I mean, it's in all the tournies. (snicker).
    My armies:
    16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
    7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
    6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
    4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
    1,500+ of Legion (just started)

  11. #10
    Member Bakdoi's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    San Francisco
    Age
    34
    Posts
    116
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    Your freind has stated he gets cover saves does that mean he has been shooting at you from one side of the skimmer becouse he then can not claim its landed.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Record with my Necrons
    W:2 D:0 L:0
    2st game: vs Chaos result: Win :p

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts