Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Reason this get asked:
I was playing my buddies Necrons. His Necron Lord that had taken a wound previously, charges my Chaplain. I cause a wound, he doesn't. Necron Lord loses combat, fails his leadership (outnumbered 3-1 and under 50% wounds). I don't catch him so he jets away.
On his next turn would he get the opportunity to rally or does he behave like a unit under 50% and therefore not get a rally attempt and therefore fly off the table. Checked the book and the IC rules didn't seem to make much, if any, mention about that at all. Said that it acts like a unit in it's own right. The unit morale rules say he shouldn't. Since it wasn't crystal clear, we asked the store owner after the game and he said the Lord should get a rally attempt.
So if anyone can either post the answer or give me the page with the definitive answer that would be muchly appreciated!
I stomped the Necrons into the ground so maybe that's why my buddy is being so adamant about this.
May your aim be true, and your targets plentiful.
The IC can rally unless there is a unit close enough to force it to continue to flee, the number of wounds caused on it is irrelevant.
40K-Beakies(9-14-4),Guard(4-7-2),Orks(34-12-11). FANTASY-Dwarves(15-6-7),Beasts (14-14-1), Skaven (17-17-10) DoC (6-1-2). CYGNAR (28-15-1)
OK, I think you've got the right answer. Now I'll try to find the rules reference for it, and the logic ! ;-) Bear with me, it's a bit long winded...
1. Regarding your question, there is no special rule on morale / leadership tests for ICs in the Characters section, except for the exemption of Last Man Standing (BGB p51).
2. Regrouping is conditioned a.o. by the unit having " at least 50% of its original strength " (BGB p49). However there is no indication in the Regrouping section on how to interprete this rule in relation to models with multiple wounds.
3. But very similar wording is used in several instances in the "Taking Morale Tests" section : p47 (Shooting Casualties), p48 (twice : Losing and Assault, and Tank Shock). In all three cases, the wording is " -1 if the unit is below 50% of its starting strength ".
4. On the first occurrence of this "below 50%" rule (BGB p47) we find a clear rule that is relevant to your question : it is the number of models that count. Nothing is said about multiple wounds. This rule is not repeated in the other two occurrences of the "below 50%" rule on page 48.
5. Since rules are only permissive, according to the "models" rule in 4. above, we can only count models, not wounds, for the purpose of determining if a unit is below 50% of its starting strength.
6. I think it is reasonable to interprete the p49 condition on Regrouping as equivalent to the rules on pages 47 and 48
Conclusion : the same rule on counting models, not wounds, applies when testing for regrouping.
Items 1 to 5 are pure RAW, if I made no mistakes. Item 6 is, strictly speaking, an interpretation...
Is there anybody who disagrees, and who can find a better rule logic ?
Children of Isha
Much must be risked in war.
Blood Angel Stormraven Conversion Work In Progress.