Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Seems like Hit and Run is in need of some Erratta by the looks of the last question....Hopefully this one is easier...
If two units who can 'Hit and Run' are locked in an assault can both units H&R at the end of the phase?
Sure :) Each unit would have to roll separately, of course.
EDIT: Also, my guess is that if one unit H&Rs but the other doesn't, the enemy does NOT get to consolidate (because they are still locked with the other unit). I'm not certain about that, though.
Last edited by skyfish; June 15th, 2007 at 04:08. Reason: addendum
I think he means if both you and the enemy have hit and run, not if you have 2 units with hit and run against the enemy. I suppose you still both could hit and run though... I can't think of anything preventing it.
Tenozuma - The Burninator... I came, I saw, I posted.Originally Posted by Aussie Bogan
Dark Eldar player.
Feel free to PM if you want any advice or help with anything.
Assume everything I say has a "what I think" disclaimer.
Hang out with all the other Aussie and NZ members at The ANZAC Clan.
Need advice, want to talk warhammer or just want a laugh? Come on LO Chat. http://www.librarium-chat.com/
It seems like as soon as one unit H&Rs, the other is out of the combat by default. I guess this would have to be a house rule; either allow both H&Rs to occur simultaneously, or do an initiative roll to see whose unit gets to flee first!
I'd say they could both hit and run since they would both be engaged at the end of the combat phase. You'd have to dice off for who rolls first though, since you could get some odd situations where they both hit and run in the same direction.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
i know it is definatly not the be all and end all, but a unit of raptors and a unit of shining spears do it in a white dwarf... err... issue... 323 nov2006
so i'd say its possible. that and as long as you both declare it is hsould be fine.... just do it before your opponent roles the dice! so you are still in combat!
This issue came up in a game of mine at the LVGT. We went thru three judges before they could come up with an answer. What was ruled there was that both units could Hit and Run, and it was diced off to give priority (I won, so chose to have him HnR first).
I'm fine playing it that way, as it seems to be the most fair. The strictest RaW reading though, is critical on the one passage in the USR: "The break-off move is automatically successful and is not subject to sweeping advance. The enemy can consolidate normally, however." (emphasis mine)
In the strict reading of it, the only option it gives to the enemy unit is to consolidate. So you would probably dice off to get priority, and one unit would HnR, while the other could only consolidate.
Having said that, I play the first way - just wanted to give both sides.
Stjohn- not entirely true. Normally, the enemy can consolidate. If they are part of a multiple combat (thus still engaged) they cannot move except for pile ins and such. Special rules certainly overrule the general.
RAW would allow both of them to hit and run.
As to the order of it, I would follow the same rule as pile ins- start with whoever's turn it is.
16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
1,500+ of Legion (just started)
Just let both leave. But what does your post have to do with him not being right?? I would use I to determine who leaves if they are the same dice it.
Last edited by WarpSpider; June 16th, 2007 at 20:50.
tarzen said that they both could, stjohn said the opposite. how is that not the same?
i'd be tempted to do them at the same time, if the two sides decide that they will go the same way, jsut place the units so that they are not incontact with each other, it is the equivalent of one unit following the other, going in for the kill so to speak. if they are both fast enough to leave combat, why can't they be fast enough to chase the other down