Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I played a Cities of Death game with a friend, and he exploded a rhino inside a building. he had Orks on all 3 levels of the building. we rolled for the explosion distance, and got 3".
then we got into some problems. I felt that we should measure directly from the rhino to the models to see who was within 3" direct line measure.
another player argued that in cities of death damage only takes place on a single level, like with templates, so only the orks on the bottom level take damage.
we could find nothing really about this type of instance in the rulebooks. the nearest thing was about measuring distances you make a straight line from model to model angling up through terrain.
any thoughts? (we rolled 4+ and everything within 3" got hit)
This isn't covered by the rules. So I don't think we can give you an answer. I personally would claim that it would only be models on the same floor. Like template weapons. It keeps it simple. The only argument for measuring a "sphere" around the vehicle is because shooting distance is measured at angle (if there is one) in CoD. I think you did the best thing by dicing off for it.
"The internet perceives censorship as damage, and routes around it."
I'd agree with magnet_man. It is in keeping with the CoD rules, and you can imagine that fallen masonry/floors would absorb the blast protecting the troops above (or something like that...).
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
we weren't sure because there was 3" Line of sight from the rhino to the orks. I think that if the rhino was directly under the orks, they'd be protected. it was a L shaped building with 2" wide floors, and the rhino exploded where it wasn't beneath a floor.
*shrug* that's why we diced it off
I would say an exploding vehicle, is like ord. It can only affect ONE level of terrain.
W/D/L Eleventy trillion billion/NONE/ NONE - I am STILL rulezor!
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!