Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
This may be brain-dead obvious, but I've been obsessing over it. When a character with a pistol and, say, a power fist assaults me, does the attacker roll the extra attack as a power fist? The pistol allows an attack because it simulates point blank firing, but I see no reason why the attacker should be able to allocate that attack to a power weapon or fist that can insta kill, or deny an armor save. Of course, I play Necrons who have no such problem. I've given up on the argument with my friends because it does add an extra layer of complexity to resolving the attacks, but I'd like to know what you think.
It's not a pistol shot, that's just the fluff for it. Ruleswise, it adds the attack.
Unless there is a special rule, as a few things in the game have, ALL attacks in CC must be a certain weapon type. So if you had a Power Fist and pistol, then ALL of your attacks (including the extra from having two single handed weapons, like a Fist and a pistol), must be a single type of attack, usually, in that case, Power Fist attacks.
So, your friends would be right, if I'm reading you.
Aye, LN answered it spot on. Another thing to think about is that if you resolved it as a pistol, then you'd have to specify what type of pistol it was. A plasma pistol shot should definitely behave differently than a laspistol, if you're going to start adding that level of complexity. And then of course, since you're shooting a plasma pistol, shouldn't you be making Gets Hot! rolls? Yeah, makes things more than a little complex =). This is just one of those cases when you say "Yeah, it's not like real life, but we don't have space-undead in real life either."
...or DO WE?! *duhn-duhn-duuuuuuuhhhnnn*
Political language is designed to make lies sound truthful and murder respectable, and to give an appearance of solidity to pure wind.
If you're intruiged by doctors who are also ninjas, then this is the webcomic for you!
Yes, you pick one weapon to attack with, apply the number attacks on the models profile, +1 for an extra close combat weapon and +1 for charging so it end up as the chosen weapon doing all the work multiplied by the number of attacks allowed.
If you are armed with a choice of close combat weapons you get to choose only one to do all the work per turn and the choice to change weapons becomes available again next turn.
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.
it depends, that example of an assaulting model with a pistol and PF... the model could either use the normal initiative order with its basic str attack, or the pf at ini-1. I believe that he cannot do both (1 pistol hit , 2PF hits) but must commit to 1 or the other.
Armies thus far....