Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Perhaps the rules aren't really unclear on this, but the rules as I read them doesen't sit well with me, so I'm hoping I've misinterpeted them somehow.
My question is, what happens if a unit start it's movement phase inside a terrain piece that grants cover save without facing (such as a forest. Does the defenders still get to strike at I 10?
If so, how do you go about assaulting anyone in cover with fragile high initiative units such as genestealers and Nid's Reavers? There seems to me to be no way of doing that without suffering high casualties and thereby negating any usefulness in gambling with choosing high I for poor armour..
Some units have the option of being upgraded to deal with these types of situations, like marines can take frag grenades so they strike at the same time at least. I'm not that familiar with tyranids so I can't help much, sorry. I'm pretty sure though that they can take some kind of upgrade to deal with units in cover, you'll have to investigate it a little further I don't own the codex yet. Maybe someone else knows and will post it. Being in cover is definietly an advantage when it comes to being assaulted. The second round however, resorts back to int. order so those genestealers and reavers will be hitting first again, if they survive the first round that is.
Hope this helps.
I'm aware of the available biomorphs.
Still, it seems compleatly insane to depend upon low armour models with high I if you're doomed to loose 1/3-2/3 of the brood in CC no matter what you do as soon as the opponent puts his models in cover..
..So I guess that just means I cannot field a fast but fragile melee Nids' army and expect to win anything no matter how well I manouver.
It does NOT mean that. It just means you have to be careful when assaulting. Remember that you will have the advantage in numbers most of the time. The simple way of doing it is to assault with so many of the tiny guys/rippers that they will be stuck in the cover for a long time and be unable to effect the game. Also it is recommended that you take at least one of the big guys who can shoot (warriors, 'fex, etc.)
Don't get down about your army list. All armies have their ups and down. Also you can use cover too. Try some infiltrating/deepstriking (dunno which) lictors to mess up the enemy.
Turtles For the Turtle God!
Shells For the Shell Throne!
Chances are, the only units of his in cover are his shooty units, as they're going to want to just sit and shoot at you. His shooty units won't do that much damage to you in CC, first turn or not, and in any subsequent turns of CC, you'll be going first due to the higher Initiative.
The trick is, swarm the shooty guys with fast units (ala Gaunts and Rippers) and save the big hitters (Genestealers) for his big CC guys - Terminators, Howling Banshees, and the likes. Most of those will be gunning for your lines instead of sitting in CC.
I think you're overestimating the power of a 6-man Las/Plas squad. Believe me, you won't suffer 2/3 or even 1/3 casualties against those units hiding in cover.
But as stated before, yes cover is very advantageous but speaking as a guard player that's had many a gaunt rush then once that first wave hits your lines it kinda says alot about what'll happen in subsequent turns (that is, if the first wave has reached you, the others are most likely not far behind, stabbity stab stab.:cry
What I've seen happen far too often is that fast 'n fragile nids get pummeled by enemy shooting and the player gets discouraged from pushing on and thus loses his momentum and becomes a fish in a barrel. Or alternatively he attacks on too wide a front, so once it hits it can be dealt with.
But that's for another thread.
Your fluffraping hurts my eyes. - TehDarkPredator
Also remember, cover only lasts the first round of combat.... so if you have some fast hormagaunts charge a squad in cover (making sure to keep them in synapse so they don't break), on your next turn if the gaunts are still locked in, you can freely charge your genestealers in there at your high initiative and the defenders won't get to go at I10 anymore.