Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Had this come up yesterday and was curious as to the right way to play it.
A rhino with a squad in it is currently in rough terrain, the rhino attempts to move but fails its break down roll and becomes immobilized and the unit proceeds to pop out. Does the rhino count as moving for the turn or not? My friend argued that technically the vehicle didn't move at all so he should be able to disembark the vehicle and move the unit. I argued that he attempted to move so all the unit can do is disembark but not move.
Hm, not sure if it's directly covered in the BGB, but I'd lean towards your interpretation. It's kind of similar to a squad taking a difficult terrain roll. If they don't like what they get and choose to stay still, they still count as having moved. I would say the same counts for dangerous tests for vehicles.
Phew... This is a though one. I would say it counts as having moved, since he declared movement. You should see it like this: the Rhino tryed to grip in the dangerous terrain, but failed. Still it did take the time to try and make drive through the terrain.
Rolling the dice for the Difficult Terrain roll committed him to moving that vehicle. It therefore counted as moving even if he didn't physically move it, as the *intention* was there to move had the roll been successful. So the men could not have done more than to disembark.
The rule is found on P.17 BGB last three lines of the third paragraph under Moving in Difficult Terrain. Agreed that this is referring to a foot troops unit rather than a vehicle, but the principle is the same.
On P.61 BGB under "Dangerous Terrain Tests for vehicles", the first line uses the words "whenever a vehicle attempts to enter or to move through......[difficult terrain]). This implies that the vehicle has already started to move, but in order to continue at its normal rate it must pass this Terrain Test. The order of things is
1. Decision to move made.
2. Movement is now dependent on passing Dangerous Terrain Roll
3. Continued movement permitted/disallowed by result of Terrain test.
The concept is that the movement is initiated but thwarted by a failed test. Therefore the normal disembarkation rules apply as if the vehicle had moved.
Hope this helped a little.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
I agree, once its attempted the dangerous terrain roll, its considered moved. Same with difficult terrain. If a squad attempts a Difficult terrain roll, but choses not to move then it also counts as moving.
Also consider that the turn sequence, thinking of it in real time, the squad/vehicle whatever, is in the middle of doing it/getting ready and attempting it when the roll was failed or opted not to be taken. Its no less relevant that the rhino TRIED to move and got stuck: to the squad inside, they were waiting around to be carted to their next position, and all of a sudden, they have to get ready to do something else. I see it as "missed oportunity" while their whole action isn't wasted, its certainly not like they were ready for it.
W/D/L Eleventy trillion billion/NONE/ NONE - I am STILL rulezor!
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!
Thanks for your comments guys, we both agreed that its common sense/logical that if you attempted to move you wouldn't get to move the disembarked unit, but like my friend said common sense doesn't always make its way into the rules for 40K.
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.