So I was playing my Warriors against my friend's lizardmen today, and let's just start off by saying, I'm new to Warhammer and this was only the second 2250 battle I've ever played.

My Turn 1. I finished deploying first and won the die roll, so i decided to go first since his stegadon was deployed around the six inch range of the 12 in his deployment zone. All my units advanced a little bit up. I have a magic heavy army and my friends are cool with special characters, so in my magic phase i've got villitch, a tzeentch sorcerer, and a nurgle sorcerer. The nurgle sorcerer took out the temple guard champion with buboes. The tzeentch sorcerer took out a few sarus warriors. Villitch tried casting Infernal Gateway with five dice, and miscast. My tzeentch sorcerer had the infernal puppet so he modified villitch's roll into casting with irresistable force, i did five strength nine hits on the temple guard. I pulled one of his dispell scrolls casting pandemonium. My hellcannon targeted the slaan and temple guard in my shooting phase, but the artillery dice moved it into a unit of sarus warriors. No close combat.

His Turn 1. His units advanced, nothing to write home about. In his magic phase he got of Portent of Far on his slaan/temple guard. He didn't get anything else off because of his poor rolling and me converting his failure into my dispell dice. He killed one chaos warrior with his salamanders, but he killed three skinks with a misfire.