Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I find the 7th ed rulebook to be a little ambiguous on this matter of the free reform. Being primarily a lizardmen player I have not needed to worry about the exact rules for it before but reading through the rulebook t'other day I couldn't help but get confused.
I won't quote from the book as you can all read as well as I can so I'm simply going to ask if this would be a legal move or not.
A unit of 5 Glade Riders all in one line move directly forward 18". They then reform into a "2-2-1" formation. Now during a reform the centre of the unit must stay the same so technically the model now at the front of the unit has moved more than 18" in the turn.
Is this illegal as a model has moved more than 18" in one turn or does the "free" reform allow for this.
I think the BRB is quite clear on this (p.70): Free reform as long as no model of the fast cav moves farther than its doubled movement rate.
So with your example of them marching straight ahead they have already used up all their movement.
It ain't easy bein' green... :-)
That is what I thought but I was chatting to a certain smiter of rules questions in IRC last week and he seemed to indicate that as it was free it didn't count toward the movement and that the "moving no more than double it's movement" part only applied to the reform itself. Of course I may have understood him wrong.
It is illegal. As per diagram 70.1, you have to take the distance moved into account when you reform. The reform cannot take you beyond your normal move.
The centre model stays in place, but the models would have to reform into multiple ranks behind him.
The two rules have to be used together...if you see what I mean.
(I agree that the wording is rubbish. There's not even a diagram)
So the red model should stay where it is, with the other green models changing their location. That way:
a) The centre model does not move
b) No model has moved more than double its move
Ultimately, stopping 2" short and reforming makes no difference.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
awesome, thanks guys
I've often wondered about this rule for the Tomb King's fast cavalry choices. Since we cannot march, do our fast cavalry Light Horsemen and Chariots still benefit from being able to move freely and do donuts across the battlefield so long as it's within twice our movement rate?
Well we benefit from being able to reform freely (I use it pretty much every single move with chariot units in some form or another), but its still only within our base movement rate, not double. Once again a shoddy choice of wording in the BRB like Rork said.