Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Slight dispute going on between me and friends about how wounds in excess of enough to kill something with regeneration are sorted out.
A Vampire Lord with Von Carstein Ring is hit by a cannonball, wounded, fails his ward save and then takes 6 wounds. With the regen from the ring do you:
A) Roll as many dice as the count had starting wounds (4) and as long as he passes at least one regeneration he's still alive. Excess wounds are discounted as he only has 4 wounds that can be taken away and this could lead to him regenerating more wounds than he started with.
Roll as many dice as as many wounds he took and he needs to pass enough to ensure he has at least one wound left (ie. passing 2 would not get him two wounds back as he failed 4 and would take 4 wounds). The rules say the regeneration works just like a 4+ ward save and you have to save against every wound not just enough to kill you.
C) Something completely different
Just like a ward save.The rules say the regeneration works just like a 4+ ward save and you have to save against every wound not just enough to kill you.
Regeneration is treated like a Save taken on top of Armour and Ward saves, so a model with all 3 can be a real pain to kill. Unless you take a high strength magical flaming weapon ofcourse...
So does that just mean thet the vampire would get a 4+ ward, then a 4+ regenerate save, and failing both would lead to D6 wounds?
Say you have a model with a 5+ armour save, a 5+ ward and then 4+ regeneration. He gets hit by a cannonball, which wounds him. He doesnt get his armour save, but he gets to take his ward, and failing that he gets a 4+ regeneration save. If he fails both of these then he takes D6 wounds.
(page 96 of the little rule book, 'Regen works exactly like an additional ward save')
Last edited by wildinferno; July 31st, 2007 at 22:39.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone