Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
In a challenge, you get to count additional Wounds caused towards the combat resolution (Overkill).
How is this calculated when a character has the Killing Blow ability? Say the opponent has 3 Wounds and is killed outright, that counts as 3 towards the resolution yes?
What about any other normal hits that did not cause a Killing Blow?
What about any other hits that also caused a Killing Blow?
Four attacks, rolling three 6's gives three Killing Blows. Against a model with three Wounds does that count as nine wounds caused (so that would be three wounds +5 for Overkill, eight towards the resolution)?
If you Killing Blow your opponant in a challenge, you get all of his wounds (in your case 3) towards your kill count for combat resoloution. None of these count towards overkill though.
As all attacks are simultneous, each other wound you inflict, whether it killing-blowed the enemy or not, will give you 1 for an overkill bonus. Other killing blows cannot give more as the model has already lost all its wounds and died. Killing blow is different to attacks which cause D3 wounds.
I have to disagree. The killing blow special rule does not state that you inflict a number of non-savable wounds equal to your opponents remaining wounds. It merely says you slay them outright. The blow is still only 1 wound, just an incredibly leathal one.
However, unless you roll your dice 1-by-1, you do not know which wound was the killing blow. Therefore, I would say in a challenge the most you can score from wounds is the opponents remaining wounds +5 for the overkill. If one fo them is a killing blow you get the bonus that they're out the count.