Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Since to charge you need line of sight, flyers can fly over intervening units and hills grant line of sight over units, does that mean that my flyers can charge at enemies on a hill even if there's opposition in front of them at the base of the hill?
For example, in this situation would the fell bats be able to charge the cannon, despite the intervening halbadiers?
2000AD's answer to all "How do VC deal with ..." questions: Forbidden Lore + 2 Power Stones.
Further answers will require more vodka.
Yes they can, perfectly legal so long as there is room for the flyers to be positioned in combat between the cannon crew and halbadier unit.
Agreed. Also, if there is no hill involved, large targets work in the same fashion. Such as flying Dragons which can see over units, and units can see it over other units.
Dark Elves - Game #28 vs High Elves: Draw
W L D
21 5 5
So what happens when there isn't room? Do the flyers go into the flank, or does the charge not take place?Yes they can, perfectly legal so long as there is room for the flyers to be positioned in combat between the cannon crew and halbadier unit.
If they can't fit then the charge fails.
The only time you get to flank is if the majority of the charging unit is in the flank.
Mirage Arcana Podcast
The "A Smart Player Will..." theory is a complete paradox. If we make an assumption that everything we do is outsmarted, then theoretically we can never win.
Hhmmm... The warmachine has no facing, therefore no quadrants for dertemining where a charge comes from. When charged they form up as skirmishers: charge closest model, perpendicular to the charge the battle line forms. As many of the charging unit that can (assume skirmishers) form up on the battle line, defending skirmishers form up to max width of chargers.
Now, flyers cannot stop their movement over units. So combine the two rules. As long as each individual flyer has enough movement they form up as skirmishers (as many in the front rank as can, restricted by movement and not placing on the halbardiers). Then any others are palced in ranks behind the first (restricted by the fact each subsequent rank apart from the last must be as wide as the first, and again the halbardiers). Should during the ranking process the unit violate the rules of rank or the rules of flyers ending movement, then the charge fails. Pretty much, whats been said in the post so far, but with a bit of rule (un)clarity about it...
Interestingly, the faq offical appendix has a section on multiple charges. If, during the process of charging and alignment, a unit is brought into contact with other enemy units, they are engaged as well. In fact, it goes on to clarify that any units within an 1" should be aligned into the combat. So, if the bats can get into combat with the cannon, following the rules above, and keep the halbardiers within 1", by the rules they should be aligned into combat. Now you have a rear charge from the front of a unit with a higher ground bonus. Seems wrong on so many levels.