Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
(Image copyright 2000AD)
KK, an edit including the original post and situation for a clearer understanding.
Hhmmm... The warmachine has no facing, therefore no quadrants for dertemining where a charge comes from. When charged they form up as skirmishers: charge closest model, perpendicular to the charge the battle line forms. As many of the charging unit that can (assume skirmishers) form up on the battle line, defending skirmishers form up to max width of chargers.
Now, flyers cannot stop their movement over units. So combine the two rules. As long as each individual flyer has enough movement they form up as skirmishers (as many in the front rank as can, restricted by movement and not placing on the halbardiers). Then any others are palced in ranks behind the first (restricted by the fact each subsequent rank apart from the last must be as wide as the first, and again the halbardiers). Should during the ranking process the unit violate the rules of rank or the rules of flyers ending movement, then the charge fails. Pretty much, whats been said in the post so far, but with a bit of rule (un)clarity about it...
Interestingly, the faq offical appendix has a section on multiple charges. If, during the process of charging and alignment, a unit is brought into contact with other enemy units, they are engaged as well. In fact, it goes on to clarify that any units within 1" should be aligned into the combat. So, if the bats can get into combat with the cannon, following the rules above, and keep the halbardiers within 1", by the rules they should be aligned into combat. Now you have a rear charge from the front of a unit with a higher ground bonus. Seems wrong on so many levels.
>>2000AD has a post about flyer charges which seems to lead to the conclusion that flyers can get rear charges from the front >>quadrant under the right conditions. Post was a windy one, my apologies, so go there for details
>>http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...d.php?t=101693 (Flying Charges over other units.)
>>Was curious to see what the wider community thought on this.
Last edited by UnderEmpire; August 15th, 2007 at 08:50.
Ah, but it was determined, the charge is at the front of a unit. The charge is declared, against a legal target behind the other one, and executed by a unit of skirmishing flyers. The flyers legally charge the units front, however, as they are placed they come into contact/within a fraction of an inch of the unit that was infront, but at their rear. FAQ says any units brought to within 1" of a charge are aligned into a combat as well. This means that the combat spills onto the rear ranks of the unit even though the flyers started from the front.
Last edited by UnderEmpire; August 15th, 2007 at 08:42.
Surely the chargers and cannon cwer would just be aligned so that they didnt come into contact (or within 1" of) the halberdier unit? They would rank up, closest skirmisher to closest crew, then in a diagonal direction from there, avoiding contach with the unit's rear.
The align charges contact think is just intended for charge wheels that cause clipping of other units during a normal charge i think.