Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Suppose you have a unit of 20 dwarf miners, you choose to use the underground advance rule and "start" the miners ina 2x10 formation.
On the turn they arrive they deploy with their rearmost rank against the table edge, projecting 10 models deep into the table (pursuit off the table rules). Then they may use half their move (1 1/2") to increase their frontage by upto 5. These models are placed in the front rank increasing it evenly each side. (Formation change rules). The remaining move (1 1/2") may be taken.
By the rules, RAW, perfectly legal i think, but its serious rules abuse, and dont be surprised if your opponant packs up and you dont get a game for a while. Its kind of along the same lines as the 'releasing fanatics into enemy lines in turn 1' tactic, by abusing the wording of the rules for wheeling.
Thats exactly what I thought, wouldn't go for it myself. I have used the deploy wide and turn to get facing the enemy though... models still touch the table edge.
Thanks for the speedy response (rep), anyone else got anything that may make this illegal?
lol, no problem. Was only fast as i happenned to refresh the forum page just as you posted i guess.
Reforming and changing the ranks has to keep the center of the unit (not the center of the front rank) stationary. They'd probably actually end up moving less by doing this.
Reformation states that you keep the unit centre, can't find any similar reference to chaning ranks.
Possible that its a house rule at my local GW store to prevent abuses like this. Don't have my books on me so I can't look.
Adding ranks to the front is just that: adding ranks to the front. You're not reforming the unit, at which point you do use the center of the entire unit. RAW-wise, what was originally described is perfectly legal. In fact, you could even abuse it more by going 1 wide and 20 deep, then adding ranks (get to add up to 5). It is still an abuse of the intent, though. :p