Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I 've been playing Warhammer for awhile and I've decided to read through the entire 7th Ed book again and more closely in order to get the best understanding of the rules I possibly can.
I came across this passage and I think I understand it properly but I'd like to clarify..
My understanding is that if a unit charges an enemy unit and said enemy unit decides to flee then during the comp moves part of the turn the fleeing unit is moved 2 or 3 D6.
That part is pretty simple, the next part is where I get confused.
The book then states that during the move chargers portion of the movement phase you move your chargers towards the fleeing movement and if you can't catch them you halt at your normal movement distance. However , if you catch them you move your full charge distance.
It then implies that if you cannot reach the fleeing unit (which would normally be a failed charge) but can reach a unit within your normal charge distance but outside of your normal movement distance that you can declare your charge against them.
Is this correct? I think it is because of the term "full charge move" in the first paragraph. Clarification would be great though.
I think this is correct
You have it spot on. You can continue up to your full charge distance if there is an enemy within that distance you wish to charge after the first unit has fled.
However, in 7th edition, you can't vear off one direction to hit the emeny, right? As in if you charge Alpha and Alpha flees and you can't catch them. There is unit beta that is within your charge slightly to the right of your path. Are you allowed to redirect in that direction towards Beta? I was under the impression that now you can't change your actual path to get to the new unit. So if Charlie unit was behind Alpha you could redirect to Charlie. Does that make sense? Thanks in advance. ;?
Armies: Wood Elves, High Elves
Warbands Campaign 07: 1st
San Antonio Alamo GT
It used (6th ed) to be clear that the second unit had to be one you could not see originally, and you were able to change direction.
Now however niether of those apply. I think the rules are slightly more vague now, but what you have said Trodi is essentially correct. The second unit must be long the original charge path.
PS, take a look at the FAQ too, if the second unit flees you follow it, not the original unit. It was reworded in the second printing of rulebooks. Just FYI.
Aye the redirect charges rule is no more. You can only declare a new charge as a result of 'enemy in the way' if the second unit you wish to charge lies directly in your path.
So... if you declare a charge on an enemy unit and they flee you keep heading in the direction of that unit no matter what. If you catch them or another unit then you move double distance and if you don't... you don't but in any situation you will travel along a straight line between your starting point and where the enemy unit originally was. Right?
No more NG spearmen, thanks! Now I need some pump-wagons!
Kind of. If you charge another unit and they flee too, then you begin to move towards that unit, in the direction they fled. Only a smallchange to the originally printes rules, but the FAQ link is below:
(1st page, Erata, on the left, 'page 45 corrections')
Almost right - if they flee, your make your charge move (failed or not) towards where they wound up and not towards where they originally were. It's why it's very dangerous to flee when charged from two sides... chances are pretty good for one of them to catch you.