Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hi. My friends and I are terribly confused about cover and obstacles. We have read the rules book several times and it seems vague and wishy-washy about the issue. I have some questions about using Cover in games.
1) Say there is a hedge 12" long and 1" wide that allows line of sight - a unit of HE archers is on one side of the hedge (6" away from it) and an enemy unit is on the other side of the hedge (6" away from it). Is it correct to say that the HE archers can shoot at the enemy unit on the other side of the hedge AT MINUS 1 DUE TO SOFT COVER?
2) Does it matter how close/far the enemy unit is from the hedge (2" vs 6") for them to get the protection of soft cover?
3) Imagine that hedge was instead a stone wall OBSTACLE. Under what circumstances would the HE unit get MINUS 2 to hit the enemy unit?
4) What if the enemy unit was within a couple of inches of the wall?
5) What if the enemy unit was within 6" of the wall?
6) The rules say you need to be at the "corner" of a building (terrain feature) for the protection -- what about the corner of a wall (obstacle)?
7) How far from the corner should you be? (LOS corner or literally right at the corner?)
Rules book says you must have 1/2 of models concealed behind corner of building to get -2 to hit due to hard cover -- CAN THE ENEMY TARGET ONLY 1/2 OF THE MODELS THAT CAN BE SEEN OR ALL OF THEM (since they are bobbing around the corner to get the protection?)
9) Conversely, if 1/2 of your models in a unit are concealed behind heavy cover (thereby imparting -2 to the whole unit) can these concealed models, which per the rules are bobbing around the corner, also shoot (if they have ranged weapons?)
I am totally confused about cover and obstacles and I truly hope someone can clear this up for us. Thanks.
1) No, the unit being shot at must be directly behind or in the cover to take advantage of it.
2) In base to Base contact with the hedge
3) Same as above
4), 5) as above
6) It depends on the exact positioning. Use your own jurisdiction and rules as above.
7) Usually done in LoS, get a models eye view.
All of them, i.e any can die. However they will hav no LoS to the ones in cover.
9) if the hard cover is a wall, then yes. If a building or other area terrain feature, then no.
Thanks Deceiver - you cleared up many issues for us. One thing though, still a bit confused by 9) though. You say "if the hard cover is a wall, then yes. If the hard cover is a building or other terrain feature, then no." Am i correct in my understanding that this means that if the concealed unit is 1/2 behind a heavy cover wall that they could see over (then yes they can all shoot back because they can see over the wall) but that the 1/2 of the unit which is not visible because it is behind the corner of a building cannot shoot back because it has no LOS? -- what about them bobbing around the corner and such? Also this seems kind of unfair if it is the case as they can still be killed even if not within LOS of the other unit shooting at them.
Yes you have that correct. Sorry, i think i began to rush answers and maybe wasnt clear enough, but you got the essential idea. Basically yes, if a model has LoS, they may shoot. Behind hard cover where they can be seen, they get -2 to hit bonus, and behind hard cover where they cant be seen, they cannot be targeted.
I THINK that (for the 3rd case above) if other models of the unit can be targeted, then even the ones that cant be targeted or seen directly can still be killed. I think... i will check this for you now, see if i an find an exact answer.
Well i cant see anything which sggests otherwise, and nowhere does it state 'only models in LoS and range may be killed'. If that phrase was (or indeed is) included anywhere, then it would trhow up some interesting points.
The problem im having with describing this well is that there are so many possibilitiesfor the scenario.
Best thing to do, if anything like this, or any other rules confusion ever arises mid game, try and find he answer in the rules. If you are not sure, roll for it and then afterwards post the question on here, where we will be happy to answer
Last edited by Cyric the Mad; September 14th, 2007 at 00:01. Reason: Merged posts