Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
The follow situation occurred in my last battle. It was Skaven vs. Dark Elves.
A unit CoK (with noble) charged some Skaven Slaves, broke them and overran into a unit Plague Monks. This was in the DE players turn. So the battle against the Plague Monks was to be fought in the skavens turn.
In the skaven turn the CoK got charged in the back by a Plague Priest with plague censer.
So who has first strike in the following CC phase? We figured this. First the damage from the plague censer as it says that in the special rules of it. Then the 2 charging units on Initiative so the Noble went first, and then roll for the plague priest and other knights. And last the Plague Monks.
Now the strange part, atleast what I think is strange. The Noble decided to hit the Plague Priest who was in base contact in his rear. And it is here where the problem comes. Can he use his +2S charge bonus from the lance? In the rules there is nothing saying he can't use it for rear attacks. In the Errata on the GW site they say this:If you think about it, he gets the extra S from the momentum of the charge. But how could he possibly use it to thrust behind him? As we were a bit short on time we decided to let him use the +2S. And so I'm here now in hopes that you can share your infinite wisdoms about it. 0:Q. Does the Strength bonus conferred by spears and lances to charging models only apply against a unit that they actually charged, or does the bonus also apply to enemy units which may have counter-charged them in a situation such as mentioned on page 45, at the end of Persuit into Fresh Enemy?
A. Against all enemies, even those that might have counter-charged them. This is because in reality the chargers from both sides would be simultaneously running into each other and not moving in turns.
In the end he ended up killing the Plague Priest and the Plague Monks got butchered so ran. Which kinda sucked as I played the Skaven
Did win the game with a minor victory though.
Looks like you played it spot on.
If the PCB had the 'always strike 1st' rule, then indeed he goes first. Then all chargers in Init order, then everything else in Init order.
As for the Lance bonus on a counter charging unit, you need to look at it not as a turn based game. In 'real life', the charges would be simultaneous, as would the rest of the game really. The rules try their best to represent that.
As for attacking behind him...well, run with it. In 'real life' he would probably be able to turn around or something. The lack of realiy cant really be helped in the game though. Its called Fantasy for a reason...
Last edited by Phoenix; September 19th, 2007 at 13:00.
Well if you think 'real life' then the knights probably attacked the plague monks first, and after that the plague priest came running in their backs. As the cold ones run faster than a diseased rat
And I know they aren't static but still it seems hard to make a running turn to keep the momentum going, specially if there is an enemy (the plague monks) next to you...
But this might be a case of no definite answer or that the noble can use his +2 S how strange it might seem. Maybe we'll make a special house rule for it...
I would play that situation the same except no +2 str to a rear attack. On the charge it just doesn't make sense. It's kinda like running after a car with a baseball bat. It's not going to hurt so bad when you catch up to it, well compared to running head on at the car at least.
I could see granting it to a flank charge, however.