Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I havent played Fantasy since the last campaign, I am forgetting most of the rules ;o
#1) Can a character have a 2-handed weapon while still carrying a shield for the usual +1 armour save... Not talking about the hand weapon + shield bonus, I meant the straight 6+ armour save provided by a shield.
#2) Can a regular Hordes of Chaos take random units from the book Storm of Chaos? For example, taking a unit of mounted daemonettes from the army list Archaeon into a regular Hordes of Chaos Slaanesh army.
Anima Tactics - try it out!
#1) No, you count as not having a shield at all for that combat phase.
#2) No, you have to use the whole army, or none at all.
On a sidenote, I believe whats happening is that SoC is now getting phased out, so as a new Book comes out, their list becomes void, out of date, useless, worm food (or something along those lines).
there, i hope that helps
On Question #1, Yes you can use a shield while carrying a two handed weapon when being shot at, but not if you use it in combat. All of your chracters come with a hand weapon as basic, if you then take a 2 handed weapon and a shield you get +1 armour save against shooting, but once in combat you must choose whether to use the two handed weapon, in which case you do not get +1 armour save, or you hand weapon and shield (so you'd get +2 armour save) and your man is assumed to sling the two handed weapon around it's back or on the floor. Remeber though, that once you choose which weapon choice your man is using in combat, he must keep using that same weapon set until the combat ends.
Just as a quick note, even black orcs are stuck with what they choose at the start of the combat. There was a special character for that little precursor to the nemesis crown campaign that was able to pick every round. I think his rule was called "more than armed to da teef" or something like that, but he was unique in that ability.Remeber though, that once you choose which weapon choice your man is using in combat, he must keep using that same weapon set until the combat ends, unlike for example, Black Orcs who can choose which weapons to use each turn.Well isnt that interesting... I have a friend that uses the hellcannon all the time. I'll have to bug him about that now#2) No, you have to use the whole army, or none at all.
Just to add some weight to one end of the teeter-totter of opposite replies...
Von Smallhousen (hee hee!) is absolutely correct on all counts except maybe the bit about black orks, as indicated by gamerfreak.