bound spells - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: bound spells

  1. #1
    Member shrither's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Age
    26
    Posts
    84
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    bound spells

    i had a battle with a freind the other day, and there was a bit of confusion over the dispelling of bound spells.

    can anyone clarify how exactly dispeling a bound spell works?

    WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGH!!!!
    Win-Draw-Loss
    Orks 1-0-0
    Vampire counts 0-0-1

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Ancient Spacefarer Kai-Itza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    UK
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,708
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    211 (x6)

    Bound Spells generate their own power, to cast the spell kept within it.

    in the item's description it should say something like (Power Level *Insert Number here*). this is usually small when compared to casting spells through a wizard, and should be the value of which you need to beat with your Dispel dice to dispel it's effects.

    using dispel scrolls also works, but in my experience, it's usually wasteful to do so.

    hope this helps

    -Kai-Itza-

  4. #3
    King of Librarium's Tombs Phoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Lancaster / Warwick, UK
    Age
    28
    Posts
    7,143
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    579 (x8)

    Kai has it pretty spot on. Basically imagine Power Level of the spell to be the autopmatic, set result of a D6 used to cast the spell, i.e Power level 4 is cast automatically cast on a 4. From there they work exactly like normal spells

  5. #4
    Member shrither's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Age
    26
    Posts
    84
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    ah ok. that does help our despute along rather well. thanks for clearing that up
    WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGH!!!!
    Win-Draw-Loss
    Orks 1-0-0
    Vampire counts 0-0-1

  6. #5
    /botnobot/ DavidWC09's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wayward, Texas
    Posts
    12,489
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    1283 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by shrither View Post
    ah ok. that does help our despute along rather well. thanks for clearing that up
    Capital letters, my friend. Capitals.

    LO forum rules and all that jazz.

    Thanks.
    Painting Videos--My Warriors of Chaos--WHFB Tactica Index
    *************************************************

  7. #6
    Member Cadaith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Sussex, UK
    Age
    45
    Posts
    46
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Kai-Itza View Post
    in the item's description it should say something like (Power Level *Insert Number here*). this is usually small when compared to casting spells through a wizard, and should be the value of which you need to beat with your Dispel dice to dispel it's effects.
    -Kai-Itza-
    Almost right. To dispel a spell from a bound item, you need to equal or beat its power level same as dispelling any spell.

    So the caster automatically casts the spell (lets assume a bound item with power level 4) as if they had rolled 4 on their dice, but as you say no dice are rolled to cast it.

    The opponent then decides whether to attempt to dispel it, following all of the normal rules for dispelling. So you can use your dispel dice and try and roll 4 or higher, or use a dispel scroll or similar item etc etc.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts