Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Can a unit make two flee moves in one turn? For example, a Tomb Kings unit charges goblins and the Goblins flee. During the magic phase the Tomb Kings player casts Urgency on his unit and charges the goblins again. Do they flee again (this is the only reaction they'd be allowed to make) or do they just get run down if the charge is successful?
I can find the specific page reference that you can only make one pursuit/overrun move per turn, and that you can only flee once from the *same* charge (in the case of multiple "Enemy in the way" situations in the FAQ), but damned if I can find anything one way or the other about fleeing twice.
Any help (with specific references) is much appreciated (rep++)!
In the TK magic phase the Goblins must make a second flee roll as normal. Im not sure where it says so, but it doesnt say otherwise, so just treated like a normal charge.
My best guess at a referance would be something like 'unit may not move more that 2xM in one turn, unless fleeing'.
Well I don't think that there is any specific reference to allowing or disallowing multiple flees, but on page 19 of the little rule book it does say that the only response a unit that is already fleeing can make is to flee again. Off of this I would say that you have to flee from charges if you're fleeing already, so you can make as many flees as are necessary throughout the course of the phase.
I believe if you catch them using "Urgency" the goblins will be cut down, since they are already fleeing.
3000 points Tyranids
2000 points Blood Angels
1500 point Orks
Not automatically. You will be declaring a charge with the urgency movement (If you dont then you will just stop 1" from the goblins) As it is a charge, treated as normal (As stated in the TK book) then normal charge rules apply.
Correct. By normal charge rules apply, i meant that they must flee as normal etc and everything else that applies to a fleeing unit on the painful end of a charge.
It's the same principle of if I beat your unit in CC in your turn, you break and flee. Then in my turn, if I charge the broken unit with any of my units that can legally declare a charge, your broken unit automatically flees.
It just seems silly that a unit doing well can only make one overrun/pursuit move per turn (because by the book's explanation they run out of steam) but a unit fleeing could potentially move 6d6 (or 9d6 in the case of M7+) by fleeing a normal charge, fleeing a magical charge, then fleeing an overrun/pursuit charge.
Seems to me like an unfriendly rules quirk for the Tomb Kings - while the book states that a fleeing unit charged by a new enemy automatically executes a flee reaction, I don't see any exceptions for multiple charges in one turn.
I'd have to agree that the charged unit flees again. It may be silly, but I wouldn't consider it the only rule that conforms to such a description