Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
For a while my friend who plays wood elves has been going on about this super uber unit of doom. Somehow he combined ward saves to make them have a 2+ ward save, he uses the rhymers harp or something.
Please any help would be usefull.
Can you combine ward saves or not?
Hurmm... not sure how he reached a 2+ ward, but I can promise you it wasn't legit. Wards are always expressed in die rolls - i.e. a 5+ ward means a 5 or 6 succeeds. He may have gotten confused, since armor bonuses can stack.
You only ever get one ward save against an attack - you can take an armor save, a ward save, and a regeneration save if you've got all three, but you can only ever take one of each. This becomes important with a few Wood Elf units who can have one ward save against non-magical attacks, and another ward save against all attacks - you get one or the other, not both. And they absolutely do not stack.
The Rymer's Harp offers the unit a 5+ ward save. Unless there's some severe rules loop-hole I've missed, there's no way for a Wood Elf unit to get a 2+ ward save.
I think your mate has pulled a fast one. Ward saves do not combine in the same way that armour does, so if the unit had an inherent ward save of 6+ and he bought an item that gives them 5+ you choose which ever one gives them the best save rather than adding them together.
Helper monkey, bring me beer and donuts
there is only 1 example of this i know of and its the dwarven rune of iron. and the rules explicitly state that the runes of iron can only combine with themselves and only generate a 5+ ward (the only way for dwarves to get a 4+ ward is a master rune of spite).
basically, its against the rules
spambot kill tally: 79
[16:19] <@Alzer> Arky's right though
[16:20] <@Kaiser-> I know he is.
[16:20] <@Kaiser-> He usually is.
[16:20] <@Kaiser-> Sometimes it's intentional.
[00:01] <+zubus> i love you, ya skirt wearin nothern monkey! ^_^
BRB pg 30 under "Ward Saves". Please try to read the rulebook first, eh?
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
If you need to give your cheating friend (and a unit with a 2+ ward save is just outright impossible) a page reference, it's on p.30 in the Rulebook (the box about ward saves, obviously )
And as all previous posters have stated, they (the ward saves) don't stack.
Edit: ach, Rork has beaten me for the page reference
It ain't easy bein' green... :-)
It gets realy anoying when I cant kill that unit
Realy this has been a great help
Yeah, think of it this way. A ward save is a magical presence that helps protect the wearer. Just because you have two magical items your still only going to get the protection of the strongest unlike armor and mounts where more and more of you is being physically covered from enemy attack.
The only unit I can think of that has a 2+ ward is Malekith and he starts with it.
The loremasters cloak gave a unit a 2+ ward against spells (it might be gone now), the amulet of blood and (I think) the jade amulet give a one off 2+ ward as might that rule that Tirion and Teclis have when they are on their last wound.
More in answer to the question; no wards do not stack and I believe that you can only have one so if a unit has one to start with I'm not sure that they can benifit any other one- I'm not sure of the ruling though.
No, you can't stack ward saves, but you can have more than one. You can only ever benefit from one at a time, though. So if you have more than one ward save you use the best one available, as per the rulebook page 30 mentioned by Rork (and by Orkbert, though beaten to it by Rork...)
Last edited by skilett; December 2nd, 2007 at 00:17.