Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Title self explanatory, but i have seen lists with e.g 16 archers, and I have people telling me that they have to in ranks of five, but how can you get a rank of 5 each with 16? it makes no sense to me
to get +1 to your combat resolution for ranks, you need at least ranks of 5 wide. for every complete rank of 5 models after the 1st one, you get +1 combat resolution up to a maximum of +3 in total (rule book page 3.
archers are almost never lined up in ranks of 5 like infantry though, mostly a rank of 10 depending on the unit. that's because you want as many shots as possible. if you'd want, you can field a unit of 16 with a front of 5, getting 2 full ranks, and 1 model in the 3rd rank. this way, you still keep those ranks for combat resolution if you lose 1 model.
the "16" is sometimes because the boxes come with 16 models, and if the player can't afford any more for a while, and the minimum unit size is 10+ , he might field a unit of 16.
Thank you for clearing that up for me. I knew that archer boxes came with 16 models usually but I just couldnt see how to put them in ranks of 5, well, thats fine now. Thanks again:happy:
The amount of models you get in a lot of boxes is still based on 6th edition rules where a unit only needed to be 4 wide to get a rank bonus. Hence plastic infantry units often come in boxes of 16 and plastic cavalry are often in boxes of 8. They are, however, slowly changing this as they release new models (the new empire plastics are a good example)
One bad point though is that in doing this GW can try charging more per model and hope people don't notice since there are a different number in the box. I think this happened with the empire soldiers.
Oh ok, but it doesn't matter if theres 3 rows of 5 and just one guy at the back? If thats the case no probs. Thanks again guys.
"Lightning shall sunder the skies, the rivers will flow with blood and war will come to the land. The legions of the long-dead kings shall once more rise eternal in conquest, and death shall ride beside them."- Settra, The Eternal King of Nehekhara.
If there are 3 complete ranks of 5, then you have one fighting ranks and 2 combat bonus (/+spear attacking) ranks The lone guy in the 4th rank will just count as an extra model as part of the 4th, incomplete, rank.
Last edited by Phoenix; November 15th, 2007 at 21:59.
As the others have said, having an incomplete last rank is perfectly legal. It doesn't add to your rank bonus if it isn't a full rank but it does mean that your opponent will have to kill at least one more model before they reduce your rank bonus. Personally I try to only use full ranks because it looks nicer.