Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I played a game at GW recently and this rule killed my entire army (mainly because I failed every leadership test when the unit broke and run).
One block 12 Empire Knights marched up within 12" of my Glade Guards, so I tried to counter this by placing a unit of 5 Glade Riders in their charge line to redivert its route. When the charges came, I declared a flee reaction.. my opponent immediately says he's going to redirect his charge at my Glade Guards after I have moved my Glade Riders.. is that even possible? I thought the Knights would have to wheel first to face my Glade Riders which would take them into the woods.. but instead, he said he can wheel just a little bit so he's not running into the woods and still be able to hit my Glade Guards in his full charge distance. I remember from the rulebook, units that declares charge must wheel enough so that he can get the most of his models in base contact upon the charge.. was it legal for him to wheel just a little bit so he could redirect his charges at my Glade Guards?
Here's a picture of what happened:
(dont laught at my poorly drawn picture )
Looking at the picture and assuming its accurate, then no rule was broken im afraid.
When charging, a unit must pivot the minimum amount required so they can then move in a straight line into base to base with the enemy. In this case, the Knights didnt need to start pivoting at all (as the flee happens before the chargers are moved), so once the GR had fled, they can continue in a straight line, unfortunately for you meaning they hit the GG.
The GG do get to make their own charge reaction too though.
What's the use of Glade Riders if they cant be used to redirect charges.
They can, you just need to place them out of the direct line of the charging unit so the charging unit neeeds to commit the charge move in the GR direction. The problem here for you was the woods actually i think. If that wasnt there it would have allowed you to place the GR a little further over, and the Knights following would have had to pivot.
When charging a unit MUST wheel enough to maximize the number of models that will be brought into combat. It can wheel more if it has the movement, but the number of models brought into combat must still be maximized. (The only exception to this is if completing the wheel would leave the unit without enough movement to complete the charge, in which case it wheels the maximum amount it can with enough left to finish.) The empire knights in this case cannot charge straight forward as it would leave a couple of knights out of combat on the right side, and a couple of glade riders on the left, assuming the drawing is anything close to scale.
This is actually something that seems to come up a lot, mainly with people whose first rule edition (and therefore the one that really stuck in their head) was 6th. I've even had to correct GW employees on it. If you look in both the BRB and the official FAQ and Errata, there are numerous illustrated examples showing not only the literal interpretation of the rules, but that the designers intent was for units to charge straight at their targets, from the center of one unit to another. There was even an example of almost this exact situation (using Glade riders and Glade Guard no less) two white dwarfs ago.
I moved the Glade Riders there in hoping he would charge them.. which he did and to my surprise he was able to redirect his charge. If the wood hasnt been there, I could move the Glade Riders further back away from a straight line to the Glade Guards, but I know very well that he was going to charge the Glade Guards anyways even with my Glade Riders on the side setting up the bait.. so in the end, it won't work at all.
Nep is right. They would have to wheel to maximize, then move the rest of their MA toward the fleeing Glade Riders. The Glade Guard should have been safe.
Hmmm i really am confused.
Historically (6th ed), i always used the rule that charges may be redirected only at enemy units not seen before the charge. So if you charged a unit that screened another, you could redirect to the screened ones leaving the screeners to flee.
I just re-read the 7th ed brb and i can assure you that NOWHERE i can find the word "redirect", so i think it is a missing part of the rules in this new edition... 8X
but again, reading and merging the sections of the brb i came up with this:
3-fleeing units are considered fleeing (no...? really?)
4-charger must "pursue" the charged unit using his charge movement (so must wheel to face them and move as close as possible)
5-if charger catches the fleeing troops, they are destroyed - if not, he makes a failed charge
6-if ON THE STRAIGHT PATH that leads the charging troops to the fleeing troops, there are any other units, they may be charged as well by part of the pursue move.
Regardless of this, the charge may be succesful (run down the interposing fleeing unit and charge the one that stays behind) or failed (run down no one, charge no one else, just move half speed and stay there mumbling and sighing)
Imo this is the situation in the 7th ed. but i must assure you that there is no clear explanation: good work GW!
Anyway i can find a suitable meaning for this, because now in 7th ed fleeing units can actually flee through friendly units: so the concept of redirecting charges is no more adequate.
Indeed, i can find throughout many passages on the brb that the predominant concept now is:
when you charge, you charge in a straight line against the elected unit -you MUST wheel to do that, as soon as you start moving- and for no reason you may alter your straight course.
I hope this is clear, while actually i'm surprised it now works this way...having the rulebook and not reading it is a speciality of mine LOL
It's better, it's shiny, it's warped...it's Chaos.
From the diagram though, even a slight wheel would be enough to maximise the combat (the end model f the GR would be in corner to corner) Continueing in that straight line from there, the Knights would be able to hit the GG.
Though it would depend on distances and the woods penalty.
Appollogies for the incorrect info earlier.