Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I had someone claim that since he made a Ward save against the wound loss, my wizard couldn't gain a wound.
The spell effect reads like this: "The enemy model loses 1 Wound. No armour save is allowed. In addition, the casting Wizard gains 1 Wound...".
This leads me to believe that the Wizard gains a wound even if the wound caused on the enemy is saved (by Ward or Regenerate or some other special rule), since one rule is not affected by the outcome of the other. Your thoughts?
Hehe haven't really thought of it in that way... But I kinda have to agree with you.
If you take some fluff in account then it's more logical that you first have to cause (read: drain) the wound to strengthen yourself afterward.
But I would say you gain +1 wound no matter the outcome of the caused wound...
Seems that way, but it seems a bit gamey though.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
I think this is another case of RAW vs RAI. I think the 'in addition' is statement is assuming the enemy model took a wound from the first part of the spell.
I agree, the rules could be read that way, but I would never play it like that. And would indeed look to my opponent with disbelief if he tried to pull that on me. Maybe in 6th, I would agree a wound that was regenerated would still be gained by the caster, but not now. But then again, I mostly play against mates, and we all have pretty much the same understanding of the rules. :happy:
I must respectfully disagree with pretty much everyone else. Maybe the spell powers you by draining the magical energy released when the ward save goes off, or maybe the magic of the spell actually provides you a wound first, which then creates a sort of kharmic imbalance that manifests as a force of anti-life that you send your enemy's way. Whatever explanation you want to provide, the rule itself is pretty clear.
EDIT: Or maybe the ward save only protects their body, not their essence, and so while their vitality is intact and they don't take a wound you still steal some of their soul energy and bolster yourself with it.
Put the box on the table by the window in the kitchen.