Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Just returned to Empire after a year out playing FOW.
Three questions I have about the army book. I have completed searches and looked back at the titles of the threads in this section and the Empire section (back to December) but had no joy finding an answer (which worries me a little, because it suggests the answer is obvious)!
So at risk of appearing a complete noob, here goes:
1) The Golden Griffon rule of the war altar states that "once per Empir magic phase, the griffon allows the Arch Lector to cast any one spell from the Lore of Light, which is cast at power level 5, exactly like a bound spell."
Do I randomly determine a spell at the start of the game or choose one for the whole game or can I pick and choose which spell to use each turn? i.e. use one spell in turn 1 and another in turn two?
2) Are Characters (Heroes, Lords etc) allowed to join Flagellant warbands?
Thanks for taking the time to read through my question.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
For point 1. Everyone I know selects the spells every magic phase.
Every tournament I have been to have allowed this.
Mirage Arcana Podcast
The "A Smart Player Will..." theory is a complete paradox. If we make an assumption that everything we do is outsmarted, then theoretically we can never win.
Now I do feal stupid, I was convinced that I could not use characters with the flagellants, but was concentrating on the army book, forgot to cross reference the rule book. Sorry for the idiot question.
Also, thanks for the clarification on the war altar. I may have to make one (hate the GW model)!
OK, this is related to what I was going to ask about Warrior Priests joining Flagellants :
So it appears that a Warrior Priest COULD join a Flagellant Warband, if he was under the influence of his Unbending Righteousness prayer at the time of joining.
But what happens when that effect is dispelled / he starts a different prayer ? Does he get 'booted out' of the unit ? And if so, what happens if the unit is in combat when this occurs ?
On a 'fluff' note - I think it's great if he can join Warbands by approaching them while chanting a prayer of Unbending Righteousness - it's likely to appeal to them ! What I'd LIKE the ruling to be, would be - if not in CC when prayer ceases, he gets booted (to 1" away, moved by controlling player), but if in combat, continues to fight as part of the unit, which remains unbreakable, and once unit counts as out of combat, he is booted (unless by then he's re-started prayer).
However, this is just what I'd call a 'sensible' ruling, but when it comes down to it, it is not clear what would happen. Strictly with the wording of the rule, the only restriction is 'cannot join' (i.e. the act of becoming joined is the only place this is restricted) - it doesn't say 'cannot be joined with'. This would mean that he could just use the prayer to be allowed to join the unit, then change to another once joined. But I feel this isn't the intent.
What do people reckon ?