Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
1. Can a character charge out of a unit that he is joined to, and the unit then charges also? I hope you understand the question
2. I saw a veteran player do this situasion
O O A
O - enemy unit
A - my unit
My both units charge the enemy unit in the centre, and it declare that it flees. The lower A unit charged first and made the O unit flee out of the other A units line of sight, so the A unit in the right charged the left O unit.
Is this right?
3. If a unit is charged in its all sides and is wiped out , how does the overrun work? Do the units bump into one another and stay put ,or do they go through each other?
T - troll unit
o - enemy unit
I failed the stupidity test and my trolls engaged the enemy unit ,but only by one troll ,so do they fight in this strange formation or is there some sort of alinement?
Thank you for your help.
1. The character can charge out of the unit, but the unit can't declare a charge as well. If the unit declares a charge the character must stay in the unit and charge with them. Pg 73 in the rulebook.
2. When the unit flees from multiple chargers it must flee from highest unit strength. The charging units must then try to catch it, by the normal charging rules. If that means they catch it they destroy it. If it means they bump into something else along the way, they may declare a new charge against this new enemy. Pg 22-23.
3. If you decide to overrun with all the units they would bump into the others, and they still have to follow the rules for movement, so they stop when they hit friendlies.
4. If a stupid unit bumps into an enemy it is treated as a charge, but with restricted movement. So you still have to try to maximize models in combat, even though they only move half move. Pg 52.
This is mostly pretty standard stuff, might I suggest you read the rulebook again.
1) No. The character can charge alone, or all must charge a single enemy unit together.
2) Unsure, it depends on the exact situation. Generally tou flee from the highest Unit Str enemy, but thats only when in combat i think. Charges are declared in a specific order, so a flee from the first can affect the second i think. Sorry i cant be more help there. Rork!?
3) I think all units will overrun in the direction which the enemy would have fled had it still been alive. Not positive though.
4) Its true charging models must be maximised, but in the spitit of fair play (i think its in the FAQ), even if a unit doest fit in fully on the charge, then you move the units to align them both as best as possile for the max number of models in combat.
I am one of the best players in our shop when it comes tu rules, i have read the rulebook quite more than several times. Still thanks for the answers , but the second question hasn't been answered yet, so please anyone?
Last edited by CGLover; December 10th, 2007 at 20:21.
It is possible only if the unit on the right is fleeing through its allied unit on the left,
(since both of your units must pursue straight towards the fleeing unit)
so your flanking unit is able to charge the other enemy unit
because it pursues the fleeing one and then just finds the enemy in the way.
Always remember that redirecting charges is not allowed in 7th edition,
so the only way to charge a unit on which you did not declare the charge
is only because the enemy unit that you have charged in the beginning
is fleeing through that other enemy unit.
e= enemy unit not charged
E= enemy unit which is charged
A= your charging unit with higher weight
a= your charging unit with lower weight
e E A
both a and A charge E,
then E chooses to flee,
so E must flee away from A (higher weight)
and thus flees directly through e
(remember that here unit e could be forced to check panic)
after the charge:
let's suppose that A makes a succesful or failed charge but in any case has got enough movement to get into cc with e, while a has got enough movement to catch and destroy E
and this one if they both get failed charges
E e A
I hope this can be clear to you as much as it is to me,
despite the awful artistic performance
Last edited by Hollow_Man; December 10th, 2007 at 21:00.
It's better, it's shiny, it's warped...it's Chaos.
Another question. Does the Hunter Spear from the lore of Beasts do d3 wounds?
Multiple chargers are resolved at the same time, so in the first example both A units would attempt to follow the O unit away from the A unit with the highest unit strength. The flanking A unit would only EitW the 2nd O unit if it had the higher unit strength of the two A units.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
Is it only against skirmishers that charges have to be declared in an order then? Or have i got that the wrong way round, and do Skirmers decide which unit to react to (i.e line up againt with a front rank) first?
Really wish i had my rulebook on me, it would be so helpful.
Ok cool. And by my seeming racent lack of rules knowledge, ive decided im going to read the fantasy rulebook from front to back when i get home!