Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
A rather strange situation came up the other day, and I was wondering what the "correct" answer was.
Setup: My four Kroxigors broke a unit of dwarves but failed to catch them, and ended up three inches behind. A cannon was to the right of the Kroxigors and just barely in line of sight, and was also about three inches away (but diagonally).
ddddd . C
Problem: On my turn, I want to charge the cannon. The rules say I can charge anything I have LoS to. (Curiously, I couldn't find any other restrictions, although I'm sure they're there.) I can easily move into base contact- all I need to do is wheel 90 degrees and move a few inches forward, which is well within 12". However, doing so runs through the fleeing infantry unit.
1. I can't declare the charge, because the fleeing unit is in the way. This makes no logical sense, as you can ignore fleeing troops for just about anything else.
2. I can declare the charge, but it will fail because I can't make base contact, and I stop 1" behind the fleeing unit. This makes even less sense.
3. As #2, but I can choose to charge the fleeing unit instead when the charge fails (which will then flee more).
4. I can declare the charge, and since I have to go through the fleeing unit I can declare a multiple charge against it as well (p24). Obviously the fleeing unit keeps going, and I end up engaged with the cannon.
We decided to go with #4, since the idea of fleeing units blocking a charge just didn't make sense. I'm pretty sure that's wrong, but I'd like to know why.
You can declare a charge against the cannon (crew) but when you move the chargers then if you cannon make it into base contact due to an enemy unit being in the way, then its a failed charge.
I am fairly certain that the answer is #2, unfortunately. The "Enemy in the Way" rule talks about situations where you can declare new charges, but it only talks about it being from when someone decided to flee or breaks from combat... not when your charge fails due to the inability to make your wheel.
Doesn't make much common sense, I agree, but I believe that is the actual way the wording implies.
Looking at your diagram you may be able to get into contact with both by wheeling to face the cannon and then wheeling again to even up and get into contact with both units (smashy, smashy.) I could be wrong though, you may not be able to wheel twice (I'm new to fantasy rules.)
'An open mind is like a fortress with its walls unguarded and its gates wide open' -Blood Ravens
You can only ever make one deliberate wheel on the charge. A second 'free wheel' can be made in order to fully line up the fighting units once contact has hapenned. You cannot voluntarily charge 2 different units at the same time either.
You may only declare a charge vs one unit at a time. Hence the 'voluntarily'. If you happen to be unable to avoid contact with a second or third unit then the charge will be against then too.