Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
My question is centered around the enchanted shield item. In the warhammer rule book it says that no magic item may be taken by more than 1 character. Under enchanted items however, it says that any number may be taken. The "enchanted shield" is listed under common magic items, but is titled as such. Does this mean that I can take one for each character, assuming they are able to otherwise (i.e. other items, points allowed spent on magic)? Also, does the fact that is common have any real effect, except that most any army list can use it? Thanks.
It is not an "enchanted" item, it is an "armour" item, the enchanted part is just it's name, nothing else. Ypou may, however, take multiples of common magic items, I think.....
I kill two dwarves in the morning, I kill two dwarves at night. I kill two dwarves in the afternoon, and then I feel allright. I kill two dwarves in time of peace, and two in time of war. I kill two dwarves before I kill two dwarves, and then I kill two more.
Goblin kroozade of revengyness: win:19 draw:10 loss:9
No you can't have more than one Enchanted Shield, and you can't have more than one enchanted item per character. Also it's and item of armour, which can be combined with other mundane or magic armour if you wish. But although it's under comman items you can only ever take one piece of equipment unless said otherwise, ie scrolls and stones etc.
The Enchanted Shield is a magical piece of armor, but is unique in that it's the only magical item that can be combined with another of the same type. Enchanted Shield and Gromril Great Helm, for instance, is a nasty combo.
As Ulrik said, even though they're called "common" magic items, you can only field one of each in an army (one enchanted shield, one war banner etc). The "common" is simply because all races have access to them.