Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If a unit that causes fear declares a charge on an opposing unit, and the unit fails it's test, but is equal to or higher than the unit strength of the fear-causing charging enemy unit (uses the 6s to hit rule in combat as a result) can that unit still Stand & Shoot as a charge reaction?
Also, as an aside.. in the new 7th edition, was the rule for 'Panic tests for flank/rear charges against a unit already engaged in combat' done away with? I thought I vaguely remembered that one.
They may still stand and shoot, but i believe they will also will require 6's to hit the charging enemy (not sure exactly, will need to read the wording, but i remember reaching that conclusion with a mate before). That roll to hit will still be modified as usual iirc.
And yes to your second question, there used to be a rule for that but now units in combat are asumed to be Immune to (external) Psycholoy.
You don't need 6's to hit on a stand and shoot, even if failing your fear test. You can even stand and shoot if the charge falls short. Page 50 under Fear only mentions hitting on 6's in the first turn of close combat against the fear-causers.
But spot on with the panic test, units in close combat don't take psychology tests anymore (pg 4.
It would go like this:
1. Fear-causers declare charge.
2. Charged unit declares response before measuring to see if chargers are in range.
3. Shooting is worked out prior to moving chargers.
4. You don't test for fear until you've measured to see that chargers are in range, which is done during the move chargers phase.
Ergo, you get to stand and shoot.
It's a bit of pain, and because I played undead for so long, I had to work it out. It's still a pain to explain sometimes when you're in the middle of a game.
Well, if you stand and shoot with short range guns (lets say with a ratling gun at a unit of flyers who were 18" away), you actually do move the chargers a small amount before resolving the stand and shoot reaction. What happens in that situation?
Darn being at work with no rulebook on hand! :p
One question that comes off this topic for the Stand and Shoot.
Do you take into account any modifiers other than the -1 for standing and shooting. Specifically the over half range modifier, and if so, is it measured to the time the enemy would enter your weapon range, or if already in your weapon range, measured to the starting position of the the charge.
I also assume magical effects like 'The Rain Lord' from the Lore of Life would still apply.
Thanks again for all the help! The LO forums are heaven sent!
Shooting modifyers are all cumulative, and when performing a stand and shoot charge reaction, it is assumed that the unit fires as soon as possible based on range.
So if you have Wood Elf archers who decide to stand and shoot against some enemy cavalry that are 16" away, they have to shoot from that range. So it is a -2 to hit (stand and shoot and long range). The elves cannot wait until the chargers are within half range in order to remove a modifyer and hit at strength 4 (Wood Elf Glade Guard special rule).
Also, if you declare stand and shoot as your charge reaction and find that the enemy are too close (within half their charge range), your reaction reverts to Hold - you cannot elect to flee after you've determined that you cannot Stand and Shoot.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
Much must be risked in war.
Blood Angel Stormraven Conversion Work In Progress.