Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Sorry to bring this question up, I am still fairly new at Fantasy game.
What exactly is Clipping means? and how is it happens? I've never seen the situation from any games I've played nor from any games I've watched. I've even read the errata but it doesnt explain much since I've never seen it actually happening and I dont know if it can ever happen in the way everyone plays in my local store.
Clipping is when two units end up in combat with very little of their frontage in base-to-base contact. The most extreme example having the units touching only by the outside corners of the units, leaving just one model in each unit in BTB contact.
Clipping happens when units are barely lined up with each other and the charging unit finds it has to move straight forward to contact the enemy unit with any wheeling resulting in a failed charge.
For further explanation, also take a look at the GW FAQ for the main Warhammer rules. It has a bit at the end on clipping, including pictures.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
Seem to have posted my 2 cents in the wrong thread originally! Based on your comment in the other thread on chariots hitting chariots it sounds like you play by a rule where charging units always get shifted as far as required to line up entirely against the enemy?
The 'free shift' is not part of the rules. It's a common house rule used in a lot of GW stores as well to prevent clipping, which is probably why you've never seen clipping =). By the letter of the rule the free move you get is only a wheel to align the battle line. The one model that first made contact with the enemy can't move sideways to get more of his buddies in, the unit can only wheel around him.
Both the RAW clipping and the 'free shift' can be abused by crafty players. Clipping is probably more 'abusable' where the full shift can just become irritatingly unrealistic, e.g. some knights go a full 14" to barely make the tiniest of contact with an enemy and magically gets "shoved" 6" for free and get all their lance hits. Personally I like a 'second round shift' but it still leaves the opportunity for a big block of, say goblins, to force a mandatory -3 or -4 break test against a small unit via crafty charging. (but it does prevent them from proceeding to tie up such a unit for the entire game.)
To my knowledge in a strictly by the book charge the unit that is receiving the charge does not move at all, unless of course they flee. The direction of your pursuit/overrun path should always be perpendicular to the defender's original facing. This can be modified slightly if you're using the house rules in the GW FAQ for charging multiple units. And of course against skirmishers you can pretty much hit them however you like and they have to line up on the path of the charge.
There is a section in the rules which allows the Charged unit to move a little if the chargers cannot align fully due to terrain or other units eing in the way. In this case i think you just play on from their new postion for overrun etc after the combat.
Speaking of clipping:
Had an interesting situation the other day when I played my TK vs a Dwarf player.
I set up my usual angle skeleton to flank charge counter attack play (in this case, the flanking unit was M4 Tomb Guard).
I made an illustration to help this as it's a bit difficult to describe:
The larger green square is my Skeleton Warriors. The smaller green square is the Tomb Guard.
The two red squares are Dwarf warrior units. All presented units are based on 20mm bases and are five models wide per rank (illustrated by the bisecting lines)
My 'bait' skeleton unit moves into position at an angle so when the dwarves charge, the Tomb Guard can see the exposed flank.
The dwarf unit charges into the skeletons, meanwhile, the other dwarf unit advances to attempt to cover the flank.
My Tomb Guard then declare a charge against the dwarves in combat with the skeletons - however, my opponent informs me that he is not flush exact with the skeletons (I had not noticed when he charged because of my large movement tray base). This creates a 'lip' from the skeleton unit that does not let the Tomb Guard get in the combat albeit with only three models in base as I have illustrated. And they cannot charge directly all the way into the flank because the other dwarf unit has moved up.
My opponent cites where he only must bring as many of his models to engage with as many of my models as possible. And even though five 20mm dwarves are not exact flush lined to five 20mm skeletons, he does indeed have as many of his models engaged with as many of mine.
I told him that this, while in the written rules may be legal, it is definately not the intended use, and certainly not gentlemen or sportmanlike. So we flushed up the dwarves with the skeletons and the Tomb Guard charge the dwarven flank. Of course, the dwarves are decimated and outnumbered by fear causing units, so are beaten and run down. Both units overrun with the skeletons into the flank of the second dwarf unit and the Tomb Guard into the front. The second dwarf unit shares the same fate as the first.
My question is - was this a true and legal move by my opponent? Or did I just intimidate him into seeing my side of the argument? If the former, I definately have to rethink my flanking strategy.
RAW your opponent would be correct, But what you need is RAI, therefore you are correct. The main rulebiig gives sweeping rules and examples for common situations. Sometimes you just need to apply a little logic.
Actually,looking at it, if your TG had pivoted just a little further, then the corner of one TG would be able to make it into contact.Then the Dwaves must move up to straighten up anyway.
Either way, you were right. Play locically and you cant go far wrong.
What is RAW and RAI ?