Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hi! I am thinking of getting into WHFB and I borrowed a friend's 7th edition rule book. I've spent the last 2 days reading it front to back (well, the rules part, anyway). Three things confuse me, however:
Challenges: I understand how they work, but not what happens immediately afterwards. Does the losing 'side' have to take a break test? If they don't break, are they still locked in combat, or does one have to charge another at the beginning of the next phase? In the BRB, they describe fighting a challenge on page 77, but then it abruptly ends and they go on to talk about psychology on page 78. It leaves me wondering what happens after a challenge. Can someone clear it up?
Combat resolution: This is a common sense question, I admit, but I want to make sure I am correct. I have the following scenario in mind:
Character A, with one starting wound, charges Character B who has three starting wounds. Character A inflicts two wounds. Character B then strikes and inflicts one wound, killing Character A.
Now Character B has killed his oponent, but he has actually lost combat resolution because his opponent scored 2 and he scored 1, right?
Common sense says that he wins anyway regardless of CR. Am I correct?
Finally, this one is a little esoteric: I was skimming the Ogre army book at the store and somewhere it implies that Ogres, like all other characters cannot be singled out for shooting if it's part of a 5+ unit, or if it's within 5" of a 5+ unit. The first thing I understand, the second I don't. I can't find anything in the BRB that mentions the 5" rule. Is this an Ogre-only rule, or does it apply to all characters in the game?
That's all I have. Thanks for any help.
Mirage Arcana Podcast
The "A Smart Player Will..." theory is a complete paradox. If we make an assumption that everything we do is outsmarted, then theoretically we can never win.
Back then, characters couldn't be singled out by shooting if they were walking around on their own and they were within five inches of a friendly unit with unit strength five or more. It was supposed to keep them from unheroicly dying to archer lines. Seventh edition did away with this rule.
This is probably uniquely called out in the Ogre Kingdoms book because all Ogre characters have a unit strength of thee or more on their own.
At any rate, simply disregard that rule.
This is on topic a bit, it's about Q2 and purely hypthetical
So the guy with 3 wounds won the challenge, if there is a combat going on around them that is irrelevant isn't it.
eg) My fully ranked spearmen with standard fluff and do no wounds, as do his fully ranked swordsmen with a banner, my champion say does 2 wounds in the challenge (he has 3), his hero does 1 wound (no overkill) and I die losing the challenge. However as far as combat resolution is concerned, 3 ranks + standard on both sides I did 2 wounds to his 1, I win by 1.
Thanks for the help, it is just to clear up in my head what is going on.
Not sure what you mean by 'they fluff.' The entire rest of the combat still happens between the two units. The two characters participating in the challenge just only direct their attacks at each other and no one else can attack the dueling heroes. The guys in the regiments will still have it out with each other! If you just meant that everybody on both sides misses or fails to wound, then yes, only the wounds from the challenge would go into combat resolution.
Yeah sorry I should have spelt it out.
That was what i thought would happen. Cheers
Another hypothetical for you: Your unit of spearmen w/character A is fighting his character B by itself. You do two wounds in the challenge, and he does one, killing you. He is still fighting the unit, so you still add the banner, your ranks, and an outnumber bonus to the resolution, even though the spearmen were forbidden from attacking him.
Put the box on the table by the window in the kitchen.
No problem, just wanted to make sure! Have seen an occasional person who thought that the challenge replaces the regular combat, while everybody cheers for their hero or something, rather than happens in parrallel to the regular combat. Maybe it did work that way in some old version of the game, I wouldn't be qualified to know.
Molgun, you always add things such as standard, outnumber and ranks to the combat resolution result regardless of what kind of challenge is going on.
A challenge is just a one on one fight between two characters/unit champions (think Hector vs Patroclus in Troy), yet weight of numbers and other factors can still sway combat to decide which side is the winner.
Challenges: I understand how they work, but not what happens immediately afterwards. Does the losing 'side' have to take a break test? If they don't break, are they still locked in combat, or does one have to charge another at the beginning of the next phase? In the BRB, they describe fighting a challenge on page 77, but then it abruptly ends and they go on to talk about psychology on page 78. It leaves me wondering what happens after a challenge. Can someone clear it up?[QUOTE]
Once two characters are in a challange, they continue fight until one side flees, or one are characters are killed. Page 77. If one of them are killed, then any other charcters can challange nexdt round, as only one challange can be fought in any one combat at a time.
Probably ends a little abruptly as challanges still use the normal combat rules, except the challanging characters can only strike each other. Overkill is also the exception.