Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
This is something that arose last game. I play wood elves and cast Call of the Hunt on a unit allowing it to "move as quickly as possible towards the nearest enemy unit it can see. If it contacts the unit it counts as charging"-or something close to this.
Now is the move toward the unit counted as a charge and therefore allowed only one wheel etc, or is it a move that follows the normal movement rules?
You just move directly towards the enemy unit, no wheel. As your not declaring a charge you don't get to use it.
When you contact, you still get to "align" your unit to theirs.
Mirage Arcana Podcast
The "A Smart Player Will..." theory is a complete paradox. If we make an assumption that everything we do is outsmarted, then theoretically we can never win.
From what I know, you just hurtle blindly towards the nearest visible enemy unit. If by some chance (or good placement/rolls) you make it into the enemy, it's a charge
Surely if moving directly at the nearest enemy requires a wheel then you will have to wheel? Although I agree with the above, you wont get any voluntary maneuvering from the spell.
I'd say as long as you are moving 'towards' the enmy, do what you like. If a wheel is required to do this, because they are at an 88 degree angle, so you can just see them, then you'de have to wheel.
It's a little oddball this one. Normaly you'de be facing you're target preparing for a magic charge anyway, so wheeling isn't needed, or desired as it reduces the 2d6 roll a little. If they flee, you want to best chace to catch em.
I was thinking of a situation where fast cav are magically moved between two of your units and use their free reform to 'squeeze' through the gap then reform again before they hit. Legal?
There is nothing wrong with that, except this spell means they must charge directly. The 'squeeze' will have to be done in the movement phase.
Wouldn't they be moving past the nearest enemy and then away though.As long as they are always moving 'towards' the enemy, I think that's fine.
The way I see it they move as far as they can (the roll) directly towards the enemy, without reforms etc. Do what you like with your regular move, but please don't roll 8 and dance 8" to the flank of a unit but an inch closer.