Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hi I know this has been discussed several times and I have read those threads and can post links to them if is desired but I am new to warhammer (dont even haven any models) and I am still confused.
I understand how the armor works and how the bonuses work, but I have been unable to locate this "parry" rule.
Now in the rulebook it discusses a shield and hand weapon bonus. My assumption is that is addressing the simple +1 save that you get from a shield. so light armor and a shield hand weapon gives a five and up save, before strength modifiers from opponent, correct?
Or Am I completely wrong and this "parry" from hand weapon and shield, is and additional bonus to the light armour and shield giving a four and up save before strength modifiers from enemy attacks.
Necorn Work In Progress Click Link
Correct - and note that it only applies in close combat.
Yep. There are quite a few points to try to remember about this rule. Most of this is on p56 of the rulebook. What players generally call the parry bonus is what is listed under "Fighting with Hand Weapon and Shield (infantry)" in the book. I'll try to clarify it as best I can.
- Most of what you need is on p56 about the extra bonus, and that it only applies for infantry in close combat against enemies to the front.
- The rule also applies with magic shields, so you can get the parry bonus with a hand weapon and a magic shield.
- It does not work with one handed magic weapons and shield unless the weapon's description states that it has all of the rules for handweapons.
Thou shalt remember:
Warhammer Fantasy armies do NOT have Codices. They have Army Books.
LINK - Guitarists of LO Group
Yes, but that is a special rule for them.
Don't forget that magic weapons don't count as a handweapon for the purpose of parrying with shields.
Mirage Arcana Podcast
The "A Smart Player Will..." theory is a complete paradox. If we make an assumption that everything we do is outsmarted, then theoretically we can never win.
Magic Shields, on the other hand, do count.
Wow this a pretty long thread for what at first appears to be such a simple matter.
Edit (response to below) : Oops, indeed. Probably should have read through things a bit more before posting lol
Last edited by Phoenix; January 22nd, 2008 at 03:02.
I thinks it's long because everyone keeps repeating points that ancalagon made, he pretty much nailed it on the head, and stated what counts and what doesn't.