Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Anyone know of anything that would stop a BSB from having a monstrous mount? I couldn't figure out what to do with this awesome new goblin on gigantic spider, then I realized he's not a large target and is elligible for look out sir!
I dont think there is anything in the generic BSB description stopping you, or anywhere else for that matter.
Be pretty funny for Bretonnians to stick the mandatory BSB on a Hippogryph.
Some Wood Elf players have theirs mounted on a Great Eagle. Seems to work OK for them.
Mirage Arcana Podcast
The "A Smart Player Will..." theory is a complete paradox. If we make an assumption that everything we do is outsmarted, then theoretically we can never win.
I've seen the same with High Elves, makes sure the BSB is where he is most needed. Mostly. A BSB is, in most cases, just a normal hero with a banner, so unless it says specifically in your book that he loses the options for mounts, he doesn't. It's the same with High Elves, it doesn't say they lose the option to use shield/great weapon/whatever, so they can still do that.
If I remember correctly in the previous editions army books it did say in the little side box in the hero section that if the Hero was the BSB then he couldn't be mounted on for example an Eagle but in all the new editions there is no such rule so i assume that it is fine to mount your BSB in the same way as any other hero. I don't have the rulebook with me however so appologise if that says different.
It depends on the options given in the army book. Empire captains, for example, cannot take a BSB and a pegasus. Some other books are less lenient. The new HE book, you can take and use just about everything a normal noble can take. The only problem is not having them shot to death, magic'ed or something else because they're not in a unit. Also they don't add combat res to a unit, which is usually useful. Running him by himself, would make it easier for the opponent to capture the BSB and reap the extra points.
Although, in a wood elf list I could see the advantage of moving him around on a bird (still think a horse would be better)
Wood Elves players sometimes do that. Stick a BSB on an Eagle and let him add his reroll to nearby units without exposing his vulnerable hide. If the mount's an option and the character can take a Battle Standard, then yes, it's legal.
I'm agreeing with everyone else in this thread that it's legal. But, mostly you can only make a hero level character you BSB and they generally don't have many monstrous mounts available to them. So you probably won't see a BSB on a dragon any time soon but eagles and other hero mounts will usually be fine unless it says otherwise.
Thou shalt remember:
Warhammer Fantasy armies do NOT have Codices. They have Army Books.
LINK - Guitarists of LO Group